The California State University

The individual California State Colleges were brought together as a system by the Donahoe Higher Education Act of 1960. In 1972 the system became the California State University and Colleges, and in 1982 the system became the California State University. Today the campuses of the CSU include comprehensive and polytechnic universities and, since July 1995, the California Maritime Academy, a specialized campus.

The oldest campus – San Jose State University – was founded in 1857 and became the first institution of public higher education in California. The newest – CSU Channel Islands, opened in fall 2002, with freshmen arriving in fall 2003.

Responsibility for the California State University is vested in the Board of Trustees, whose members are appointed by the Governor. The Trustees appoint the Chancellor, who is the chief executive officer of the system, and the Presidents, who are the chief executive officers of their respective campuses.

The Trustees, the Chancellor, and the Presidents develop systemwide policy, with implementation at the campus level taking place through broadly based consultative procedures. The Academic Senate of The California State University, composed of elected representatives of the faculty from each campus, recommends academic policy to the Board of Trustees through the Chancellor.

Academic excellence has been achieved by the California State University through a distinguished faculty, whose primary responsibility is superior teaching. While each campus in the system has its own unique geographic and curricular character, all campuses, as multipurpose institutions, offer undergraduate and graduate instruction for professional and occupational goals as well as broad liberal education. All of the campuses require for graduation a basic program of “General Education Requirements” regardless of the type of bachelor’s degree or major field selected by the student.

The CSU offers more than 1,800 bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in some 240 subject areas. Many of these programs are offered so that students can complete all upper-division and graduate requirements by part-time late afternoon and evening study, or by distance learning from home or work via computer or television. In addition, a variety of teaching and school service credential programs are available. A limited number of doctoral degrees are offered jointly with the University of California and with private institutions in California. In 2005, the CSU was authorized to independently offer Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) degree programs for educational administrators.

Enrollments in fall 2006 totaled 417,000 students, who were taught by some 23,000 faculty. The system awards more than half of the bachelor’s degrees and a third of the master’s degrees granted in California. The CSU has awarded nearly 2.5 million bachelor’s, master’s and joint doctoral degrees since 1961.

Office of the Chancellor

The California State University
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, California 90802-4210
(562) 951-4000

Dr. Charles B. Reed, Chancellor

California State University System

Dr. Gary Reichard, Executive Vice Chancellor

and Chief Academic Officer

Mr. Richard P. West, Executive Vice Chancellor

and Chief Financial Officer

Ms. Christine Helwick, General Counsel

Dr. Keith Boyum, Associate Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs

Trustees of the California State University

Ex Officio Trustees

The Honorable Arnold Schwarzenegger, Governor of California

State Capitol, Sacramento 95814

The Honorable John Garamendi, Lt. Governor of California

State Capitol, Sacramento 95814

The Honorable Fabian Nez, Speaker of the Assembly

State Capitol, Sacramento 95814

The Honorable Jack O’Connell, State Superintendent of

Public Instruction, 721 Capitol Mall, Sacramento 95814

Dr. Charles B. Reed, Chancellor of The California State

University, 401 Golden Shore, Long Beach 90802-4210

Officers of the Trustees

The Honorable Arnold Schwarzenegger, President

Ms. Roberta Achtenberg, Chair

Mr. Jeffrey L. Bleich, Vice Chair

Mr. Richard P. West, Treasurer

Ms. Christine Helwick, Secretary

Appointed Trustees

Appointments are for a term of eight years, except student, alumni, and faculty trustees whose terms are for two years. Terms expire in the year in parentheses. Names are listed alphabetically.

Ms. Roberta Achtenberg (2007)

Mr. Jeffrey Bleich (2010)

Dr. Herbert L. Carter (2011)

Ms. Carol Chandler (2012)

Dr. Debra S. Farar (2014)

Mr. Kenneth Fong (2013)

Dr. George Gowangi (2010)

Ms. Melinda Guzman (2012)

Mr. William Hauk (2009)

Mr. Raymond W.

Holdsworth Jr. (2011)

Mr. Ricardo F. Icaza (2008)

Mr. Andrew LaFlamme (2007)

Mr. Bob Linscheid (2007)

Dr. Peter G. Mehas (2015)

Mr. Lou Monville (2014)

Ms. Jennifer Reimer (student)

Mr. Craig Smith (2007)

Mr. Glen Toney (2013)

Mr. Kyriakos Tsakopoulos (2009)

Correspondence with Trustees should be sent to:

c/o Trustees Secretariat
The California State University
401 Golden Shore, Suite 134
Long Beach, California 90802-4210