Link to What's New This Week <i>UWP Book Reviews</i>

Dear Habermas Logo and Link to Site Index A Justice Site



UWP Book Reviews

Mirror Sites:
CSUDH - Habermas - UWP - Archives
Practice Module on This File

California State University, Dominguez Hills
University of Wisconsin, Parkside
Soka University Japan - Transcend Art and Peace
Created: January 8, 2004
Latest Update: May 10, 2004

E-Mail Icon jeannecurran@habermas.org
takata@uwp.edu

Site Teaching Modules UWP Book Reviews

Site Copyright: Jeanne Curran and Susan R. Takata and Individual Authors, September 2002.
"Fair use" encouraged.

* * * * *
Reviews grouped by course.
Student's review in green.
susan's commentaries in bright blue.



From CRMJ/SOCA 233: Criminology

On Tuesday, December 16, 2003, Amberlyn Koloen reviewed:
The Hot House

The Hot House: Life Inside Leavenworth Prison Author Pete Earley Published in 1992 The story takes place in the late 1980's. The Hot House: Life Inside Leavenworth Prison is a book I recommend for all Criminal Justice students. This book gives you the inside look at one of the most danger prisons in the United States. Pete Earley is a reporter who decided to do a story on Leavenworth Prison and was the only reporter ever allowed inside the prison gates. He studied and talked to many prisoners through a two year span and refused any type of security while in the prison. Earley focuses on 5 convicts and their life inside prison and a little of their lives before prison. He writes about the Cuban riots, the Hole, racial disputes, rapes, and murders which all took place inside the prison. All five men came to trust Earley, even Dallas Scott, known to be one of the most dangerous men inside Leavenworth. This book lets you into the minds of the convicts and makes you see them in a different way, not in the way society labels them. This Non-Fiction book will sway your emotions on prison life in many directions throughout the book, but it will always keep you wanting more.

amberlyn -- thank you.

On xxxday, December xx, 2003, xxx reviewed:
xxx

xxx

xxx -- xxx



From CRMJ/SOCA 352 Law and Social Change

On Friday, January 30, 2004, Christina Beals reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

The reading was a little elementary, but I liked the message behind the story. It makes you analyze who you are and it helped me to look to the future. I would definitly recommend this book to any one who has a half an hour to kill.

christina -- which character do you identify with the most and why? i think the book is worth more than "if you have a half hour to kill."

On Sunday, February 8, 2004, Sammy Kromm reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

I thought that by putting it into a mouse prespective really got the point acrossed. It shows you dont need a long detailed book to understand that change occurs and in order to survive one must adapt. Many people cant accept change and fall behind with all of our advancements and it proves that they cant survive without making changes themselves. Great book....recommended it to many of all ages!!!

sammy -- which character do you identify with the most and why?

On Wednesday, February 11, 2004, Tara Slorby reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

The four characters Sniff and Scurry the mice, and Hem and Haw the little people. They all find a load of cheese and get comfortable(except for the mice they move on). But when the cheese is gone, the hero of this parable, Haw starts to think of looking for another piece of cheese, and to not be afraid of change. So he leaves Hem behind to look for more cheese and eventually finds it. All because he wasn't afraid of change he adapted. I'm not sure what I think of this book, I understand the allegory of cheese, how it can symbolize anything ( love, success, job) in a persons life and that you have to adapt to still find the "Cheese". But it doesn't state how sometimes change is not such a great thing, even if you adapt you still might find failure.

tara -- do you think the author looks at change as good or bad? why.

On Thursday, February 12, 2004, Amanda Van De Hay reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

I really enjoyed the book. I also liked to inspirational messages that Haw left on the walls. I think that i would identify with Haw the most. I don't really care for change, but i will change when i comes time for it. I book was about change and how people change, if they do. Some people look for change, some wait til it happens and change right away, others don't like it, and don't want to change but do it anyway and then realize what they need to do for next time, while other people don't change at all and die out. I think that everyone should read the book, it's very good

On Tuessday, February 17 2004, Katie MacCready reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

Book Review Creative Measure- Who Moved My Cheese??? By- Spencer Johnson I truly enoyed the book on a personal level. In the past 5 months I have gone through some life changing experiences and I have had to make alot of decisions. Reading this book pinpointed alot of what I had been going through and especially help me understand fears I need/needed to overcome. In the Criminal Justice aspect espeically Law and Social Change I can completely understand how changes in life can be so hard and make people very nervous. But standing up and changing wih the times only makes you more wise and strong for being able to so that. Our Criminal Justice System whether it wants to or not needs to be able to adapt to change because it will only make the system so much better. And our system definitely can have some issues of debate.

amanda and katie -- if you liked this book, you might want to read spencer johnson's latest, the present.

On Sunday, February 22, 2004, Bettie Poole reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

The book "Who Moved My Cheese" is about ^—Change^“ and "Challenges" we have to face. It is a short story with a good concept. For sure, it has been known for decades that people tend to avoid tasks that cause physical, mental, or emotional discomfort. Why it takes a simple little story about mice and cheese for some people to understand this is beyond me. Therefore, it provides a non-threatening, feel-good reminder of what we already know about ourselves? I have quality of them all, the most will be Sniff. Who can smell change in the air, realizes it and recognize when it^“s getting old.

bettie -- did you like the book?

On Thursday, February 26, 2004, April Puryear reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

I liked this book alot. This was a good, easy reading book dealing with change. In my present job I see me and my co-workers in each of these characters. I see myself as Haw. Sometimes I am a little hesitant of change, but I do eventually adapt to it.

april -- Why Haw? Why hesitant to change?

On Friday, February 27, 2004, Bill Kohler reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

I finished the book "Who moved my cheese" and I found it to be very inspiring. >From my personal experiences I thought most people don't find the courage to be the Haw. People like being with others and will stick with Hew even if it kills them, for fear of the maze or failure. Second, I found that the first thing that came to mind (when applying it to myself) was the first thing I needed to change. It is like, if you can realize what needs to change you have made the first step, identifying the change. Over all, it is a great book for the advancing college student, it can be applied to crucial moves made in their early career.

bill -- Which character are you most like? why?

On Tuesday, March 9, 2004, Samantha Collier reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

the Book,Who moved my chesse was foucused on the unexpectedence of change. the charactors in the book were, two mice and two little people. in the story the mice was the used trial and error approach in finding ways to surive in the maze. the little people on the other hand used the technic of complex deveoplment a more sophisticated way to live to find the chesse in the maze.well they thought.in conclusion, the moral of the story is A Change Imposed is a Change Opposed. I would recommend this book to my peers because i know alot of college students that can't deal with responsiablity away from home. Change Is Good......

samantha -- as you can see, i always ask: Which character are you most like? why?

On Wednesday, March 10, 2004, Nicole Williams reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

Change is a good thing, in all aspects of life. if you don't change you will get left behind. i relate to haw, i like to go and find "new cheese"

nicole -- is this your book review? if so, you need to add 2-3 more sentences here.

Nicole added: Sorry i was just trying to keep it under 25 words. This book can be applied to our class in many aspects. With the issue of the native americans, there are many people who would benefit by reading this book. Even though there are people who feel that racism has disappeared, but it hasn't, and by reading this book, they might benefit and possibly change their views.

nicole -- i'm not sure how things can change if American Indians were to read this book. can you clarify your point?

On Monday, April 5, 2004, Frank Conforti reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

Just remembered about the book review for ^”who moved my cheese.^‘ I think that it was an easy and fun book to read. It made me look at my life and see where I was like each character in my own like. When I want change and when I do not. It does make lot of sense and you can apply it to everyday life. It is a very good book and I would recommend it to everyone. Sorry it took so long for me to send it to you.

frank -- when do you like change and when don't you like change? why.

On Monday, April 6, 2004, LaTricia White reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

I really enjoyed reading this book because it was very easy to read and understand. I thought the author did an excellent job of giving specific advice that is applicable to virtually any situation. The book, Who moved my cheese? spoke to the type of person you are, no matter what end of the spectrum you're on. By taking the emphasis off of the individual and putting it on the mice and men, Spencer Johnson allowed the reader to see the choices and challenges we face daily from a different perspective. When we are not so close to the situation we can see opportunities to exercise faith or fear, to grow or be complacent, or to act or be acted upon. After reading the book, I saw clearly that I was a Hem most of the time and now I am conscience of this and work hard to be a Haw. I am learning and practicing the art of anticipation and adaptation as well as positive thinking. Positive thinking, not like a Hem where ideas just come into my mind and nothing is done, but like a Haw, where I think of things, project a positive outcome and make plans of action that will make the thought a reality. I recommend this book as mandatory reading for all high school students in their freshman year of school.

latricia -- which theory from the arrigo book best applies? why.

On Wednesday, May 5, 2004, Marissa Schoen reviewed:
Who Moved My Cheese?

"Who Moved My Cheese" is a great book to help one understand how to adjust to changes in life. Each character reacted differently when the cheese had "disappeared" from each room, much like people would react differently toward change in each's own life. I related the "cheese" figure to many different parts of my life...school, friends, work to name a few. The writings that Haw left on the walls made me think about times that I had freaked out when change occurred in my life. Looking at the big picture, I feel that I relate mostly to Haw. I'm not fond of drastic changes in some areas of my life, but I find ways to adjust, and things always turn out alright in the end.

latricia -- which theory from the arrigo book best applies? why.



On Tuesday, February 17, 2004, Tara Slorby reviewed:
Megatrends

Well I finished John Naisbiitts, Megatrends, I'm not sure what to think, I understand the concept that to "the most reliable way to anticipate the future is by understanding the present."(pg2). The trends that Naisbitt talks about mainly are how the we have become into a information from a industrial era, and that has basically changed everything. I liked the chapter on Either/or. Here he talked about how the family has changed from Nuclear, with the father as the breadwinner to what he compares to a "Rubix Cube", any combination(pg 241). Also in this chapter he talks about "abandoning the Melting Pot"(pg243). He talks about how we have come to celebrate ethnic diversity. This book relates to our class because it shows us the trends that have formed the time we live in now.

tara -- if you liked this book, you might want to read his latest, high tech, high touch.

On Tuesday, March 9, 2004, Tara Slorby reviewed:
On Making All the Difference

I liked her thoughts on Historical differences, that up until we had a centralized government that it was the white land owners who ruled, but what has changed isn't it still the same rich whites, this relates to LSC, in that it shows white privilege. I like how she gives examples of situations that most people wouldn't take two seconds to think about, ie.. ESL students and their dilemma of difference, they are persecuted for being different but when they try to get help again they are persecuted and maybe the differences that are at the front of peoples mind, ie. sexuality, the approach of Feminists and how they want to change the stereotype, related to Social Feminist theory.. I liked that it was easy to read, I didn't like some of the language used, I know that it wasn't her exact words, but still I didn't like it Other than that great book would recommend to everyone!!!

tara -- good! and i know you're reading another book by minow now.

On Tuesday, March 9, 2004, Samantha Collier reviewed:
The McDonaldization of Society

the book McDonaldization of Society, deals with the principles of the fast-food resturant business franchies. The process is dominating more and more sectors of american society as well as the world.i have watched my community fall into this mantality of fast everything fast. i always thought if something comes to fast, it is not worth it because patince is a vertue.the bounds to McDonaldization and society is too strong enough to resit at least for right now says,the author. i recommend this book to any student who feels like our society as a whole is McDonaldized by the fast -food business dominating the way we see life in our world and affiars.

samantha -- good! you might want to read glieck's Faster.

On Tuesday, March 9, 2004, Carley Huber reviewed:
Legal Lynching

The book I read was "Legal Lynching" an anti-death penalty book written by Rev. Jesse Jackson and his son. I would recommend the book to everyone so that they can gain a perspective on how the death penalty has persecuted innocent people. The book gives a history of the death penalty coming into the country from the early colonists. There is an overview of black people being put to death more so than any other race. It looks at the innocent lives that have been wrongly executed and those who came very close to execution. Finally the book allows for a close look at how the death penalty cannot be used as a deterrent.

carley -- which arrigo theory best applies to this book and why?

On Monday, May 10, 2004, DeAira Kennemer reviewed:
Legal Lynching

I have read "Legal Lynching," by Rev. Jesse L Jackson, Rep. Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., & Bruce Shaprio. This book is a debate over the death penalty's history and future. It mentions how innocent people have been executed or are currently living on death row, and that minority groups and the poor face and suffer from a public defense system that is not in their favor, and discriminatory application of captial charges. It also discusses the frequency of legal error, systemic racial and economic discrimination. Theories that Apply: Critical Race Theory, Prophetic crim.

deaira -- okay. thanks.

On Tuesday, March 9, 2004, Stephen Bedwell reviewed:
Law, Violence and The Possibility of Justice

Sarat, Austin. Law, Violence, and the Possibility of Justice. Although not very attention grabbing, this book raises an interesting thought: Law punishes violence, yet depends on violence. The book concentrates on the work of Robert Cover, who is one of the few scholars to consider the question of law and violence. The violence of law is connected to the subject of justice. Interestingly, law deals pain and death and calls the pain and death that it deals peace. How is this so? Law, Violence, and the Possibility of Justice makes one think about the violence of law. We can see its visibility currently and in the past few decades in incarceration rates, the death penalty, and what Cover strongly feels, judges. As a society are we ignoring the violent side of law? Through Cover^“s work, this book is possible. Several leading scholars address Cover^“s work and it makes one reconsider the effectiveness of our laws. We must change and correct the problems with law, and as Cover puts it, not ^”make peace with violence.^‘ It is essential to recognize the forms of violence that guarantee the effective operation of law. Law, Violence, and the Possibility of Justice does raises interesting thoughts, however at times gets pretty in-depth, which I question the necessity. If one would like to understand more in-depth about the violence brought out through law then I recommend reading this book. Cover^“s work is controversy, but to take a look at it does no harm.

stephen -- which arrigo theory best applies to this book and why?

On Tuesday, March 16, 2004, Christina Beals reviewed:
Black Like Me

I finished the book, Black Like Me, I really appreciated that someone wrote a different historical perspective on the events that occured in history. As students we only learn one historical perspective, the white anglo-saxon, and the only time you read anything else is when you come across books like this one. I would definately recommend people reading this book.

christina -- but the author was white so can you clarify this review?

On Friday, April 23, 2004, LaTricia White reviewed:
Black Like Me

The true story of Edward Griffins experiences after changing his appearance to look like that of a black man was sad and scary because there hasn't been much change in 45 years. Today there isn't such obvious displays of racism, but it existence is unmistakable. The Epilogue exemplifies what Structural Marxist describe as win-loss dynamic that produces structural inequalities and the Radical Criminologist who seek solutions to injustice.

latricia -- is this his correct name? what other theories from arrigo might apply here? why.

On Tuesday, March 23, 2004, Tara Slorby reviewed:
Not Only for Myself

the central issue that this book takes on is how can we as Americans find a middle ground between being an individual and belonging to a specific group(ie. gay, lesbian, Latino/Latinas, African American) and how to address a problem againts a specific group without losing personal identity >> She explain how politics, law and culture is what defines identies. I am remined of what Arrigo said in chapter 5 about how our identities are never finished that its a work in progress, with the ability to reinvent ourselves.

tara -- which theory in arrigo?

On Tuesday, March 23, 2004, Katie MacCready reviewed:
The Present

The book was a great connection to his previous book Who moved my cheese???. The basic idea in this book was learning how to learn from your past- accept the changes in life, enjoy and not worry about what is to come in the future and do this by living everyday of your present life to the fullest. By doing so you can learn from past mistakes and create a better future for yourself. I myself can now see how important it truly is to live today to the fullest and not worry about my past or what may come in the future. Enjoying today makes life alot healthier for us in general. The theory that best relates to the book is Prophetic Criticism. The book stated "the difference between what is and what I want to be." Which is something prrophetic criticism says "practice what to do and what is and what ought to be. I am looking forward to reading "One minute for myself" another book of Johnson's.

katie -- a good book review integrating a theory from the Arrigo readings!

On Monday, April 5, 2004, Carley Huber reviewed:
Inside the Death Chamber

This book was interesting because it was written from a sociologists point of view and I found out later in the book that the author is, like I am, in the middle of where she stands, for or against the death penalty. There was discussion about how in our democratic society we should be able to impose whatever sanctions we wish but at the same time the criminal justice system is very capricious. There were a number of victim-impact statements (which i feel relate to peacemaking criminology, keeping lines open and resolving the anger) and notes made about to what extent we, as human beings and society, are entitled to revenge or justice. There were discussions on more men than women being executed, the earliest centuries of capital punishment, crimes of passion, repeat offenders and a very interesting chapter discussing how the author spent time (only 1 1/2 hours) on death row and the feelings she had; loss of control over her life, lack of privacy, boredom, and the interaction or comraderie with others. I would recommend this book because of the dual viewpoints.

carley -- any other theories apply from the Arrigo readings?

On Tuesday, April 6, 2004, Christina Beals reviewed:
Driving While Black

Some people don't even know it's happening to them, or if they do know that they are being profiled they don't have any clue what to do about it. It was strange for me to read this book and realize that this has happened to a couple of people I know when I was with them. For instance, my fiance and I were at Sears shopping for a watch for him and no one would help him, but when I walked up to him and asked him what was wrong a salesperson magically appeared, ready and waiting to give us anything we wanted. My fiance took one look at me and said let's go. I did not get it until he explained how he was treated before I came back by him and then we decided never to go back, and we told everyone else never to shop there again, just like the one man did with the mom and pop store that he was going to buy shoes from. What I did not realize is that we definately had other options in dealing with this kind of racial profiling.

christina -- which theory from the arrigo book applies here?

On Monday, April 12, 2004, Katie MacCready reviewed:
One Minute for Myself

This book was also really good and went along well with the other two books I read earlier. Johnson trys to get across to the reader how important it is to be able to make yourself happy in life. Doing this makes you a happier and healther person. Also by doing this you make alot people around much happier too. I myself too often work hard at making others happy and not myself, which I learned by reading this book is the completely wrong way. This book kind of goes along with what habermas says about being hopeful and optimistic and improving for the future is important. By making yourslef and others happy you aworking toward a happier future. The book can also kind of go along with prophetic criticism says about being active and not passive. I really have enjoyed all three books by Hohnson they all work at promoting a postive outlook on life.

katie -- which theory from the arrigo book applies here?

On Sunday, April 18, 2004, Tara Slorby reviewed:
A Century of Genocide

Weinzs' A Century of Genoicide, genocide in the 20th century. Nazi Germany, Soviet Union under Stalin & Lenin, Cambodia under Khmer Rouge, and Serbians in the Bosnian war. I could say that in the aggressors mind they wanted to dismantle the government so Anarchist fits, also Nazi I believe thought it was their divine duty to rule so Prophethic would work;. Antiformalism would work too for all of these

tara -- can you expand further on how these two theories apply?

On Wednesday, April 21, 2004, William Kohler reviewed:
Prison Writings

Prison Writings was an inside look into the events before, during, and after the Pine Ridge insident. In addition to the personal accounts of how Leonard P. was treated as an Indian growing up in the U.S. It spoke of the horrifying prison treatment and the corrupt court procedings. Specifically, how some accounts during the trial were hypocritical because of what was said 2 years after the trial by the same person who made that testamony. Most importantly it presented the view of the victim. One in which many don't get to see, because they are locked up and silenced.

william -- do you think Peltier killed the two FBI agents? why

On Friday, April 30, 2004, Sammy Kromm reviewed:
History

I wanted to give my book review on the book "History". I think that all of Arrigo's theories fit in with this book. Its about a poor mother and a malnurouished boy with an older brother who try to survive during the holocaust and varioius other wars. Diff & privledging~jews were killed in concentration camps and hitler and his people ruled.Marxist~believed in the revolution and the stalin and mussolini clan. critical race it goes against~not all race is important they wanna rid of the jews.chaos~ war is good and the struglle for food and money is too, social differeneces. Postmodern~this book was told my a person and how they veiw it. I thought this was a very educational book that stirred emotions in all of us. The life they hafta live iwht is devastating and its amazing how they survive.

sammy -- you should have explained how all of the theories from the arrigo book apply and why.

On Tuesday, May 4, 2004, Roberta Prescott reviewed:
Black and White Class

For the creative measure book review, of "Black and White Class. It really gives a overview of how race does play a part in society. It also mentions, how in the business world, how your race still plays a part eventhough you may have the qualifications. This is mention in the beginning how African Americans how are qualified for employment tend to be "over" qualified. The book soley discusses how society ignores one race even if qualifications do or do not play a part in devloping higher staus in society.

roberta -- you should have explained how all of the theories from the arrigo book apply and why.

On Thursday, May 6, 2004, Rachel Larson reviewed:
Warrior Lessons

The book was entilted Warrior Lessons which is an Asian American woman's journal about power. Phoebe Eng goes into great detail as to what it means being Asian American and female by her viewpoints and other Asian American females she has interviewed. She explains the differences and similarities of being Asian American along with how they deal with conforntations and battles in life. She alikens the Asian American as the wild card or middle man in politics.

rachel -- you should have explained how all of the theories from the arrigo book apply and why.

On Monday, May 10, 2004, DeAira Kennemer reviewed:
Warrior Lessons

I have read, "Why are all the black kids sitting together in the cafeteria?" By Beverly Daniel Tatum, PH.D This book was awesome! Highly recommended! It was about racism as it exists today. It also talks about how we as a society self-segregate ourselves and that is not always a bad thing. It also talks about the racial barriers that still divides us in so many areas in life. She also addresses other minority groups like the American Indians. Theories That Apply: Semiotics, Critical Race Theory, Anacharist, Prophitic crim, Peacemaking

deaira -- good. thanks.

From CRMJ/SOCA 363: Corrections

On Monday, December 15, 2003, Chase Bedard reviewed:
Mothers in Prison

The book "Mothers in Prison", by Phyllis Jo Baunach, gives interesting insight into many of the problems facing inmate mothers. Although printed in 1988, I feel that this book still pertains to many of the issues that inmate mothers face today and will continue to deal with in the future. This books arguments are often based upon research data and statistics that gives evidence to prove the different points the author is trying to make. For those interested in researching mothers in prison, I would suggest reading this book. It's available at the U.W. Parkside library.

chase-- thank you!

On Sunday, December 7, 2003, Joshua Noll reviewed:
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter and the American Justice System

I read Rubin "Hurricane" Carter and the American Justice System. I recommend that other people should read this book. It goes more into depth about the trial and how some of the evidence was tampered with, just to keep an innocent man in prison.

joshua -- thanks! i'm hoping to put together a book reviews page.

On Sunday, November 30, 2003, Brad Becker reviewed:
The Sixteenth Round

I just finished reading the book, The 16th Round Rubin "Hurricane" Carter. I enjoyed the book a lot and found out that there is a movie also that relates to this novel. Rubin "Hurricane" Carter was a top-ranked boxer in the 1960's until he was sent to prison for murdering three people. "Hurricane" claimed he was innocent and believed he was only sent to prison because of his race. After trying hard to claim his freedom by himself, which failed, a Canadian family helped him and he was later freed in the 1980's.

brad -- but can you relate this book to the readings and other class materials?

On Sunday, November 30, 2003, Alison Weeks reviewed:
Bud, Not Buddy

The book is very personal because it deals with every emotion. The boy follows his own heart, instincts, and rules for life. Definitely worth reading.

alison -- okay.but do share more details in class.

On Thursday, November 27, 2003, Joel Kaminskis reviewed:
Prison Writings

The Book of Prison Writtings was a good book. Even though it was not what i expected. The author mainly talks about why he is in prison and what is going on out side of the prison. He realy never gives a insight on whats actually going on around him. I think if he would have talked more about his prison experiences like the book Life without Parole. If I would rate this book I would give it a 7 out of 10.

joel -- good. i will try to get a book reviews page started for this class.

On xxxday, December xx, 2003 , xxx reviewed:
xxx

xxx

xxx -- xxx



From CRMJ 490: Special Topics: Media, Crime and Criminal Justice

Sam Sosnay wrotea book review on Sunday, December 14, 2003:
The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life

Here is my book review for Erving GOffmans, The Presentation of Self and Everyday Life ... Goffman'sbook was a very powerful handbook, as some would call, that used the sociological perspective of a theatrical performance to depict a kind of social life. The actors, actresses, audience and stage are all parties to the interaction. He says life is like a play and that a play can be looked at as the structure of social encouters. Basically what I got out of it is that people are always "acting" in one way or another whether it be sincere or fake, and that is just a natural part of life. No one ever really knows quite the difference between true and false. I thought overall it was a good book.

sam -- thank you.

Rich Ruocco wrote a book review on Wednesday, December 10, 2003:
Lost Boys

Per our conversation Tuesday Dec. 9th you requested that I give you a brief summary of the book The Lost Boys.The degradation of society as a whole with single families in particular, and perpetuation of violence by the media, teaches today's youth that violence and aggression have become the norm.

rich -- thanks.

Jackie Marolt wrote two book reviews on Wednesday, November 26, 2003:
Bias and Media Unlimited

Bias A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News, by Bernard Goldberg. This was a good book. He worked for CBS and was able to give lots of examples and info. Media Unlimited: How the Torrent of Images and Sounds Overwhelms Our Lives, by Todd Gitlin. This book gave lots of examples on media and the effects it can have. One of the topics he covers is a/b reality shows.

jackie -- thanks. i hope to get a book reviews page up for each class. would you recommend each book?

Heather Hernandezt wrote a book review on Thurssday, March 25, 2004:
Bias

The book, "A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort The News, " by Bernard Goldberg, gives an interesting inside look at how the media really is. Although the book was somewhat confusing because of the stories the author would tell about his personal life, it pointed out a lot of things about the media that people would never think of. For example, a news reporter can find an expert to say anything the reporter wants them to say even if it is not true. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning how the media really is.

heather -- why was the book so confusing?

Stephen Bedwell wrote two book reviews on Wednesday, November 19, 2003:
Getting Justice Wrong and Who's Looking Out for You?

Here are the book reviews: Cowdery, Nicholas. Getting Justice Wrong: Myths, Media and Crime. Getting Justice Wrong, offers solutions for crime and social related problems. The author covers such topics as corrupt cops, crime waves, the get tough on crime policies, drug problems, and the relationship between media and crime. O'Reilly, Bill. Who's Looking Out For You? In this compelling and personal book, Bill O'Reilly raises issues toward his targeted audience and readers, who, themselves, are striving to fulfill a life of happiness. O'Reilly gets very personal, questioning those whom you associate with in life. He also questions if the media, justice system, celebrities, church, government, and politicians are really looking out for your best interests. This book confronts some of the prevalent problems in our world. O'Reilly bases his book on knowledge, experience, and sanity.

stephen -- thank you. i will put them on the commentaries page until i can start a book reviews page for the class.

On Wednesday, March 10, 2004, Samantha Collier reviewed:
Information Inequality

the book Information Inequality, addresses the wide gap between the rich and the poor communities in America. the author gives evidence of his claim by illstruating the richest american which add up to 2.5 million indivduals , with 100 million poor low income indivduals. between the two their media interest are completly different, which is the potential reasons that different of our cultural oppostions. i would recommend this book to any person woundering why certain indivuals don't view the same media programs or why the gap will always remain...

samantha -- good but can you explain how this book relates to the other books required in this course?

On Tuesday, April 6, 2004, Kevin Gabbey reviewed:
Three Weeks in October

Three Weeks in October: The Manhunt for the Serial Sniper; written by Charles Moose and Charles Fleming is a book about the serial sniper shootings that took place in the Washington D.C. area. The story is told by Chief Charles Moose, who was in charge of the investigation. This book shows the relationship between the police and the media.This is a very good book that gives us an inside view of the D.C.sniper shootings. It is also about the dynamic relationship between the media and the police. This book is highly recommended.

kevin -- this version is much better than the first one.

On Sunday, April 18, 2004, Heather Hernandez reviewed:
Reasonable Doubts

The book, "Reasonable Doubts", by Alan M. Dershowitz, was a very good book. If you are interested in the O.J. Simpson case then this is a book you should read. It gives good insight to how the media portrays things. If the media thinks someone is guilty they will say everything to make it look like that person is guilty to the public. For example, the media said things about the Simpson case before they even knew if it was true or not. They said that the police found a ski mask when they really didn't. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the O.J. Simpson case or to anyone who is interested to see how the media "leaks" things out that are not always true.

heather -- can you relate to this book/review to the readings in our course? .