Xi Theta Chapter

  Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing  

Xi Theta was chartered as a chapter of STTI in 1994. Congratulations on our 10 year anniversary!


OFFICERS 2003-2004

President:  Gay Goss 

President- Elect
:  Kim McClane 

Vice Presidents
Carey Clark

Katherine Roberts

Susan Del Rosario

Barbara Kennedy

Katy Mahy

Kathryn Johnson 

Secretary:  Carole Shea

:  Connie Klink 


Angela Albright
Judith Chodil

Nominating Committee:

Dale Mueller
Sue Bauerle

Jackie Saucier

Happy New Year To All,

The New Year brings a new structure and exciting changes for Sigma Theta Tau International.  I am happy to announce Xi Theta Chapter is in the forefront of the new structure!

First, the bylaws have been changed to reflect the global membership and the changing fiscal climate.  In November, the Delegation proposed and voted the following changes:

1.      Change in the definition of GPA in the international arena
2.      A fee increases of 10.00 and future increases at the discretion of the Board.
3.      A two-committee structure at the local level. 

What these changes mean to Xi Theta is a reorganization of the Board and committee membership.  After the November convention, the current board and committees gathered for a one-day retreat/orientation.  The goal was to redefine the structure to be in compliance with the bylaw changes.  The group decided to pilot the new structure for the remaining term.  Below is a list of the proposed Xi Theta structure.  In May, the elected officers will take over and function under the new structure. For a complete explanation of the changes go to http://www.nursingsociety.org and follow the links to the bylaw changes. 

The new structure includes two major committees, Leadership Succession and Governance.  If any member is interested in serving on one of these committees, please contact Sue Baurele or Dale Mueller for further information.  The election will be held in April, so get your name in for this exciting opportunity! 

We are proud that our chapter is in the forefront of the new structure.  With everyone’s help and enthusiasm the transition next year will be a smooth one. 

In addition, our chapter was chosen as one of 25 chapters to pilot an online inductions system.  This will streamline the application process.  The induction ceremony will continue to be live, and the Board is pleased to announce the induction date of May 20, 2004 on campus.  The Honorable Tricia Hunter is our featured speaker!  This promises to be a wonderful presentation. 

The chapter is once again announcing the year’s awards.  The outstanding mentor, outstanding educator and Leadership award are out.  Please nominate your instructors and colleagues for these prestigious awards.  The deadline is April 2, 2004 

The invitation for membership is underway.  If you know of students or community leaders that would benefit from membership. Please invite them to apply.  The information is available on the website http://www.csudh.edu/soh/xitheta.htm 

A big thanks to all of the hard work from the committee members.  They have gone the distance to transition our chapter into the new structure.  It is motivating and progressive time.

Hope to see you soon!

Dr. Gay Goss, President

Got Files? Archivist/Historian, Dr. Rose Welch is trying to locate Xi Theta Board meeting minutes and Xi Theta Newsletters for 1997. If you have in your possession any Xi Theta materials that should be archived, please email Dr. Welch at rwelch@csudh.edu.

Click below for news on..

2003 Induction

Research Opportunities

2003 Outstanding Educator Award Recipient

Opportunity to Serve

2004 Awards: Criteria and Deadline

2004 Annual Business Meeting and Induction of New Members

New Induction System

Save the Date!