Schedule for Math 107

Chapter 1: About 2 75-minute classes (1 week)

·        Day 1 Tuesday, January 25

o       Introduction and Syllabus

o       Handout on Triangular numbers

o       Article and journal prompt

·        Day 2:  Thursday, January 27

o       Handout and journal prompt

o       Readiness quiz

o       Homework due February 1:  Read all of chapter 1, exercises p. 28:  3, 6, 7 (make up and solve your problem), 16, 21, 22, 32; p. 53: 1, 5, 6, 10,13, 16

Chapter 2: About six 75-minute classes (3 weeks)

·        Day 3:  Tuesday, February 1

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Exploration 2.1 Venn Diagrams

o       Homework due February 8:  Read all of chapter 2 and do exercises p. 52:  18, 28, 34; p. 75:  18, 19, 20; p. 95:  3, 4, 11, 13, 17-20

·        Day 4:  Thursday, February 3

o       Exploration 2.4 Connecting Graphs and Words

o       Exploration 2.5 Pouring Water into a bottle

o       Investigation 2.5, 2.7, 2.10

·        Day 5:  Tuesday, February 8

o       Collect homework

o       Investigation 2.7 Choosing Between Functions

o       Quiz

o       Homework:  p. 95:  21, 29, 31, 34; p. 116: 5, 6, 7, 11abeg, 12abde, 13acdeij

·        Day 6:  Thursday, February 10—Algebra tiles

o       Exploration 2.7 Alphabitia

o       Journal

·        Day 7:  Tuesday, February 15

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       More Alphabitia or Exploration 2.8 Other bases if time

o       Homework due February 22:  p. 116:  14abcdjl, 15, 29, 30

·        Day 8:  Thursday, February 17

o       Review for exam

o       Journal

·        Day 9:  Tuesday, February 22

o       Exam 1

o       Homework due March 1:  Read section 3.1 and do exercises p. 146:  4ab, 5 – 10.

Chapter 3: Seven 75-minute classes (3.5 weeks)

·        Day 10:  Thursday, February 24—Base 10 blocks

o       Exploration 3.3  (with base 10 blocks)

o       Journal:  Pick one new algorithm and explain why it works.

·        Day 11:  Tuesday, March 1

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Collect journals

o       Exploration 3.5 Part 1 only

o       Homework due March 8:  p. 147:  20; Read 3.2 and do exercises p. 161:  1, 5 – 12

·        Day 12:  Thursday, March 3

o       Explorations 3.9:  1, 3, 5, 7abfg, 3.10

·        Day 13:  Tuesday, March 8

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Journal p. 163:  26

o       Quiz

o       Homework due March 15:  p. 163:  28; Read 3.3 and do p. 180:  1, 2, 7, 12, 13, 15, 17

·        Day 14:  Thursday, March 10

o       Journal p. 181:  10

o       Exploration 3.11 Alternative Multiplication, 3.13 Division Models

·        Day 15:  Tuesday, March 15

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Exploration 3.15 Remainders and Operation Models

o       Homework due March 22:  p. 180:  44; Read 3.4 and do exercises p. 202:  1, 2, 5, 8, 19, 20, 29

·        Day 16:  Thursday, March 17

o       Exploration 3.16 Standard Division Algorithm and 3.17 Scaffolding Algorithm

·        Day 17:  Tuesday, March 22

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Journal article

o       Quiz

o       Homework due April 5:  p. 202:  59, 60, 61; Read all of chapter 4 and do exercises p. 226:  9, 22, 24, 26abcf

Chapter 4:  Three 75-minute classes (1.5 weeks)

·        Day 18:  Thursday, March 24 

o       Divisibility Handout 1

o       Journal

·        Day 19:  Tuesday, April 5

o       Collect homework

o       GCF and LCM handout

o       Collect journals

o       Homework due April 12:  p. 228:  27, 33; p. 237:  3, 16; p. 250:  1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 13, 17 and Exam review sheet

·        Day 20:  Thursday, April 7

o       Journal

o       Exam review

·        Day 21:  Tuesday, April 12

o       Exam

o       Collect homework

o       Homework:  Read 5.1 and 5.2 and do exercises p. 263:  1abcfh, 2af, 13, 17; p. 278:  3-6, 8, 9

Chapter 5 and 6.1:  Nine 75-minute classes (4.5 weeks)

·        Day 22:  Thursday, April 14

o       Integer operation models

o       Journal

·        Day 23:  Tuesday, April 19

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Journal p. 302:  25, 26

o       Homework due April 26:  Read 5.3 and do exercises p. 278:  24;  p. 301:  1, 10, 13, 14, 18, 20

·        Day 24:  Thursday, April 21

o       Exploration 5.7 Wholes and Units #1

o       Exploration 5.9 Partitioning Wholes Part 1#4-6

o       Journal p. 303:  34

·        Day 25:  Tuesday, April 26

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Exploration 5.9 Partitioning Wholes Part 2#1, Part 3

o       Quiz

o       Homework due May 3:  Read 5.4 and do exercises p. 301:  23, 46, 50, 52; p. 330: 7, 20, 24, 35, 47

·        Day 26:  Thursday, April 28

o       Division of fractions handout

·        Day 27:  Tuesday, May 3

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Journal

o       Homework due May 10:  p. 333 (Chapter Review):  7, 10, 20, 25; p. 351:  8-12, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

·        Day 28:  Thursday, May 5

o       Exercises p. 351:  15, 16, 28, 31, 37

o       Begin Final Exam Review Sheet

·        Day 29:  Tuesday, May 10

o       Collect and discuss homework

o       Collect journals

·        Day 30:  Thursday, May 12

o       Discuss Final Exam Review Sheet