Math 193 Class and Homework Schedule

Monday, January 26.In class:Syllabus, Review of Beginning Calculus.

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Finish Review sheet problems.

Wednesday, January 28.In class:Continue Review of Beginning Calculus.

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 7.1; exercises p. 420:4, 5, 11.

Friday, January 30.Quiz 1; Handout on Inverse Functions, p. 420:47.

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 7.2; exercises p. 420: 19, 21, 29, 36; p. 431:3, 4, 5.

Monday, February 2.Homework 1 is due; Introduction to the Exponential Function

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 7.3; exercises p. 431:13, 14, 30, 34, 44, 62, 71, 77; p. 439:4.

Wednesday, February 4.Logarithms and the Natural Logarithm

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 7.4; exercises p. 439:12, 17, 26, 30, 61, 66; p. 449:2, 9.

Friday, February 6.Quiz 2; Handout on Logarithms and Their Derivatives, Integral of 1/x, Inverse Trig Functions and their Derivatives

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 7.5; exercises p. 449:25, 36, 40, 65, 66, 71, 74; p. 483:1, 6.

Monday, February 9.Homework 2 is due; Limits and LíHospitalís Rule, p. 501:2, 26, 66

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 7.7; exercises p. 483:24, 32, 48, 59, 61, 66; p. 501:1, 5.

Wednesday, February 11.Integration by Parts, p. 516:2, 4

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 8.1; exercises p. 501:6, 11, 23, 38, 65, 83, 92

Friday, February 13.Quiz 3; Trigonometric Integrals, p. 524:1, 7

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Exercises p. 516:3, 5, 12, 14, 15, 19, 36, 52, 57, 62; p. 524:9, 10, 34, 54, 56

Monday, February 16.Holiday!

Wednesday, February 18.Homework 3 is due. Trigonometric Substitution, p. 530:1, 2

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:†† Read 8.2, 8.3, 8.4; exercises; p. 530:3, 4, 5, 11, 20, 24, 34, 39

Friday, February 20.No class.

Monday, February 23.Homework 4 is due.Partial Fractions, p. 540:1, 7, 15

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 8.5; exercises p. 540:8, 11, 14, 20, 26, 39; p. 577:1-14

Wednesday, February 25.Integration Strategy, Tables, and Computers/Calculators†††††††††††††††††

Homework:p. 546:1-18:Identify the method and explain but do NOT integrate

Friday, February 27.Quiz 4; Trapezoid, Midpoint, and Simpsonís Rule for Approximating Integrals, p. 563:1, 2

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 8.8; exercises p. 563:3, 6, 8, 13, 17, 30-34

Monday, March 1.Homework 5 is due.Improper Integrals, p. 573:1, 2

††††††††††† ††††††††††† Homework:Read 9.1; exercises p. 574:5, 8, 11, 14, 49-54

Wednesday, March 3.Arc Length p. 588:1, 4-7

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 9.2; exercises p. 588: 2, 3, 8, 10-12, 15, 17, 19, 33

Friday, March 5.Quiz 5; Area of a Surface of Revolution p. 595:3, 4, 7, 22

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 9.3; exercises p. 595:1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 13, 14, 18, 21, 29

Monday, March 8.Homework 6 is due.Applications:Pressure, Force, Moments, Centers of Mass p. 605:1, 2, 3

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 9.5; exercises p. 605:4, 5, 12, 15, 17, 21, 23-34, 38

Wednesday, March 10.Probability (density functions), p. 617:1, 2

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 10.1; exercises p. 617:3-9; p. 620:6

Friday, March 12.Quiz 6; Modeling with Differential Equations:Population Growth, Logistic Equation, Motion of a Spring, p. 627:1, 11

Homework:Read 10.2; exercises p. 627:2-5, 9, 10, 12, 13

Monday, March 15.Homework 7 is due.

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 10.3; exercises p. 620:6; p. 635:2-14, 19, 22

Wednesday, March 17.Direction Fields and Eulerís Method, p. 635: 1, Handout

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 10.4; exercises p. 643:1-6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 18, 38, 39, 40

Friday, March 19.Quiz 7; More Moments and Centers of Mass p. 619:11-14

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 10.5; exercises p. 656:1-6

Monday, March 22.Homework 8 is due.Separable Equations and Exponential Growth/Decay

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 10.6; p. 656:13-16

Wednesday, March 24.The Logistic Equation p. 665:1, 2, 3

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:p. 665:4-9

Friday, March 26.Quiz 8; Linear DE and Integrating Factors, p. 672:1, 3, 6, 7

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:p. 672: 2, 5, 8-12, 16-19

Monday, April 5.Homework 9 is due.Curves Defined by Parametric Equations p. 692:2, 4, 6

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 11.1; p. 692:1-17 odd, 24-28, 31, 33, 35

Wednesday, April 7. Calculus with Parametric Curves, Polar Coordinates p. 702:2, 4, 6; p. 715:75-79 with graphing calculator

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 11.2, 11.3; p. 702:1-19 odd, 37, 39, 44, 73; p. 713:3, 7, 9, 10, 13, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 31, 38, 54

Monday, April 12.Homework 10 is due.Areas and Lengths in Polar p. 719:2, 3, 5, 6
††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 11.4; p. 719:1, 4, 7, 8, 9, 14, 17, 23, 26, 37, 42, 45, 48

Wednesday, April 14.Sequences, Series p. 746:2, 3, 9; p. 756: 2, 9, 11

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 12.1, 12.2; p. 746:10, 11, 13, 16, 19, 29, 39; p. 756:12, 17, 22, 27, 32, 35, 38, 41, 58

Monday, April 19.Homework 11 is due.Integral Test and Estimates of Sums p. 765:1, 3

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 12.3; p. 765:2, 5, 8, 11, 14, 21, 30

Wednesday, April 21.Comparison Tests, Alternating Series, Absolute Convergence and Ratio and Root Tests p. 770:1, 3; p. 775:2, 3; p. 781:1, 2, 4

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 12.4, 12.5, 12.6; p. 770:5, 10, 15, 20, 30, 37; p. 775:1, 6, 12, 18, 24, 32; p. 781:3, 9, 12, 15, 25, 33

Monday, April 26.Homework 12 is due.Strategies for Testing Sums

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 12.7; p. 784:1-17 odd

Wednesday, April 28.Exam on 11.1-12.7

Monday, May 3.Homework 13 is due.Power Series p. 789:3, 5, 8, 11

††††††††††††††††††††††† Homework:Read 12.8; p. 789:4, 7, 10, 13, 14, 19, 24, 31

Wednesday, May 5.Functions as Power Series, Taylor and Maclaurin Series p. 795:2, 4, 7, 16; p. 806:2, 4, 7

Homework:Read 12.9, 12.10; p. 795:3, 6, 10, 11, 17, 26, 32, 35; p. 806:1, 6, 11, 16, 17, 24, 29, 36, 42, 51

Friday, May 7.Binomial Series, Applications of Taylor Polynomials p. 811:2, 3; p. 819:4, 5, 8

Homework:p. 811:1, 4, 7, 11, 14; p. 819:3, 6, 9, 13(a,b), 18(a,b)

Monday, May 10.Homework 14 is due.

Wednesday, May 12.Review of Chapter 12

Friday, May 14.Review of Chapters 7-11.