Math 207-03 Schedule

Monday, January 26, 2004.  In class:  Syllabus, Exploration 6.1, 6.2.1, J:  p.321:24; begin Exploration 6.3

                        Homework:  Read 6.1; exercises p. 320:  1, 2, 16, 21, 22, 23, 25, 27, 29

Wednesday, January 28.  In class:  Finish Exploration 6.3 6.4, J:  p. 322: 38

                        Homework:  p. 320:  32, 37, 39, 40, 41

Monday, February 2.  Exploration 6.6: 1-9, Investigation 6.10, 6.13, J:  Percent Change Handout

                        Homework:  Exercises p. 338:  2, 4, 6, 8, 13, 14, 16, 19

Wednesday, February 4.  First homework is due.  Investigation 6.12, 6.15, 6.16, 6.18, J:  p. 338: 1

                        Homework:  Exercises p. 338:  20, 22-25, 27

Monday, February 9.  Exploration 6.7 Part 1, p. 340:  34, J: p. 341: 45

                        Homework:  Read 7.1; Exercises p. 338:  28, 29, 30, 51, 53

Wednesday, February 11. Homework 2 is due.  Exploration 7.1:  1-4, 6, p. 340:  38, 46, 48, J:  49

                        Homework:  Exercises p. 362:  1, 2, 4, 9, 14, 22-24

Monday, February 16-Holiday

Wednesday, February 18.  Homework 3 is due.  Mayor Big Cheese, J:  Two Track Stars, Review for Exam 1.

                        Homework:  Read 7.2, exercises p. 362:  11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 21

Monday, February 23.  Exam 1

Wednesday, February 25.  Homework 4 is due.  Exploration 7.3, 7.7—With “Fish”

                        Homework:  Read 7.3, exercises p. 401:  11, 13-17, 25

Monday, March 1.  Percent Activity; Exploration 7.10—Bring dice J: p. 402:  18

                        Homework:  Exercises p. 425:  1, 2, 4, 11, 13, 14, 27, 31

Wednesday, March 3.  Homework 5 is due.  Finish Exploration 7.10, Investigation 7.21, 22, 30, 23, 25, 27, 33                       Homework:  Read 7.4, exercises p. 425:  24, p. 436:  2-5, 7

Monday, March 8.  Candy Combos, Exploration 7.12, Investigation 7.34, J:  p. 436: 20

                        Homework:  Read 8.1, exercises p. 436:  10-13, finish exploration 7.12

Wednesday, March 10.  Homework 6 is due.  Exploration 7.13—Need nickels and quarters, J:  p. 436:  9

                        Homework:  Make up 6 probability problems, at least 2 in which order matters, and at least 2 in which order doesn’t matter.  Then solve the problems on a separate sheet of paper.

Monday, March 15.  Exploration 8.1—Geoboards, J:  p.456:  14

                        Homework:  p. 455:  1, 5, 12ad

Wednesday, March 17.  Homework 7 is due.  Finish Exploration 8.1; J:  Exploration 8.1 Part 6; begin Exploration 8.3 Part 1, 2—scissors and tape needed for pentominoes

                        Homework:  Orange p. 237-240 Exploration 8.5

Monday, March 22.  Exploration 8.7—Bring cubes? Review for exam

                        Homework:  Study for exam

Wednesday, March 24.  Homework 8 is due.  Exam 2

                        Homework 9:  Read 8.2, 8.3; exercises p. 474:  3, 8-12, 14; p. 485:  1, 5, 6, 9, 10

Monday, April 5.  Exploration 8.4 Part 2; Regular Polyhedra Handout              

Wednesday, April 7.  Homework 9 is due.  Finish Regular Polyhedra.  Journal:  Why are there only 5 regular polyhedra?

                        Homework 10:  Geometry Handout

Monday, April 12.  Exploration 9.1 Part 1, 2 Geoboards; Exploration 9.3 Part 1 Pentominoes

                        Homework 11:  Finish Exploration 9.3 Part 1

Wednesday, April 14.  Homework 10 is due.  Exploration 9.4 Part 1; Exploration 9.5

                        Homework 11:  p. 506: 7, 8, 9, 17, 18, 19; p. 531:  1-4, 7, 26, 28, 29

Monday, April 19.  Exploration 9.8#1; Exploration 10.4; 10.6#3

Wednesday, April 21.  Homework 11 is due.  Exploration 10.7 Part 1, 2

                        Homework 12:  p. 556:  6, 8, 9, 19, 20, 21, 27; p. 570:  1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 15

Monday, April 26.  Exploration 10.8; Exploration 10.10

                        Homework 13:  Area Handout

Wednesday, April 28.  Homework 12 is due.  Exam 3 on Chapters 9, 10

                        Homework 13:  p. 587:  14, 15, 19

Monday, May 3.  Handout 1

Wednesday, May 5.  Homework 13 is due.  Handout 2

                        Homework 14:  Finish Handouts.

Monday, May 10.  Handout 3

Wednesday, May 12.  Homework 14 is due.  Review for Final.

Monday, May 17.  Final Exam—cumulative