Math 131-07 (41175) Fall 2013 CSUDH

Elementary Statistics and Probability WH A139 TTh 1:00PM-2:15PM Dr. Sally Moite

 

Text The Basic Practice of Statistics, 6h Edition by Moore, Notz and Fligner, Freeman, 2013.

Calculator A TI-83, 83 Plus (etc), 84, or 84-Plus (etc) Graphing Calculator is required.

Office Hours T 3-4:30PM, Th 3-4:30PM NSM E116, Web Page: http://www.csudh.edu/math/smoite, Email: smoite@csudh.edu

Tutoring Toro Learning Center (TLC) North Library 5705 Computer Lab WH D160

Grading 5% Quizzes - Thursdays.

5% Homework problems handed in.

Read all assigned sections in the book before and after discussion in class. Read the chapter summaries and link its.

10% Four short projects

54% Tests (3, 18% each) No makeup tests will be given.

26% Final Tuesday Dec 10 1:00PM-3:00PM Cumulative

5% Extra Credit Statistical Analysis of the Class Data Set

Grade Scale A 90, A- 88, B+ 85, B 80, B- 78, C+ 75, C 70, D+ 60, D 50, F Below

 

Course Topics and Preliminary Schedule (Test Dates will not change.)

Tues Aug 27 To The Student, Ch 1 Picturing Distributions with Graphs

Thurs Aug 29 Ch 2 Describing Distributions with Numbers

Tues Sep 3 Ch 3 The Normal Distribution

Thurs Sep 5 Ch 3 Supplement - Some Other Distributions, Exponential Distributions, Power-Law Distributions

 

Tues Sep 10 Ch 4 Scatter Plots and Correlation

Thurs Sep 12 Ch 5 Regression

 

Tues Sep 17 Ch 6 Two-Way Tables

Thurs Sep 19 Ch 8 Producing Data: Sampling

 

Tues Sep 24 Review

Thurs Sep 26 Test 1

 

Tues Oct 1 Ch 9 Producing Data: Experiments, Commentary: Data Ethics

Thurs Oct 3 Ch 10 Introducing Probability (Project 1 Due)

 

Tues Oct 8 Ch 11 Sampling Distributions

Thurs Oct 10 Ch 12 General Rules of Probability

 

Tues Oct 15 Ch 13 Binomial Distributions

Thurs Oct 17 Ch 14 Confidence Intervals: The Basics (Project 2 Due)

 

Tues Oct 22 Ch 15 Tests of Significance: The Basics

Thurs Oct 24 Ch 16 Inference in Practice

 

Tues Oct 29 Review

Thurs Oct 31 Test 2

 

Tues Nov 5 Ch 18 Inference about a Population Mean

Thurs Nov 7 Ch 19 Two-Sample Problems

 

Tues Nov 12 Ch 20 Inference about a Population Proportion, Ch 21 Comparing Two Proportions (Project 3 Due)

Thurs Nov 14 Ch 23 Two Categorical Variables: The Chi-Square Test

 

Tues Nov 19 Ch 24 Inference for Regression

Thurs Nov 21 Ch 25 One-Way Analysis of Variance: Comparing Several Means (Project 4 Due)

Tues Nov 26 Review

 

Tues Dec 3 Test 3

Thurs Dec 5 Review