Math 153-03 (40819)                                                                            Fall 2012                                 CSUDH

College Algebra and Trigonometry                 SBS A216  MWF 11:30AM-12:40PM                Dr. Sally Moite

 

Text Precalculus, Schaum’s Outline 2nd Edition  by Fred Safier, McGraw-Hill, 2009.

Calculator A TI-83, 83 Plus, 84, 84-Plus, 86, 89, 92 or Voyage 200 Graphing Calculator is required.

Office Drop-In Hours Tu 11A-1P,W 1-2:25P NSM E116, Web Page: http://www.csudh.edu/math/smoite

Tutoring Toro Learning Center North Library C532 (Use elevator opposite to the main entrance to the Library)

 

Grading 5% Homework problems on the board, from the section covered in the prior session. (4 per term required).

                5% Homework problems in parentheses handed in.

                57% Tests (3, 19% each) No makeup tests will be given.

                21% Final – Wednesday Dec 12 11:30AM-1:30 PM – Topics covered after Test 3

                12% 4 Projects (3 points each) (may be done with one other student in the class)

                5% Extra Credit – All Supplementary Problems from one of the additional topics – See the homework sheet.

Grade Scale Passing: A 90, A- 88, B+ 85, B 80, B- 78, C+ 75, C 70, Failing: C- 68, D+ 65, D 60

 

Course Topics and Preliminary Schedule (Test Dates will not change.)

Week 1   Mon Aug 27         Introduction, Ch 9 Functions

Wed Aug 29         Ch 9 Functions, Graphs of Basic Functions

Fri Aug 31             Ch 10 Linear Functions; The Graphing Calculator

Week 2   Wed Sep 5             Ch 11 Transformations and Graphs

Fri Sep 7 Ch 12 Quadratic Functions  (Start Project 1)

Week 3   Mon Sep 10           Ch 12 Quadratic Functions

Wed Sep 12           Ch 13 Algebra of Functions, Inverse Functions

Fri Sep 14               Ch 13 Algebra of Functions, Inverse Functions

Week 4   Mon Sep 17           Ch 14 Polynomial Functions

Wed Sep 19           Ch 14 Polynomial Functions (Project 1 Due)

Fri Sep 21               *Ch 15 Rational Functions, *Ch 16 Algebraic Functions; Variation

Week 5   Mon Sep 24           Review

Wed Sep 26           Test

Fri Sep 28               Ch 17 Exponential Functions

Week 6   Mon Oct 1             Ch 17 Exponential Functions

Wed Oct 3             Ch 18 Logarithmic Functions

Fri Oct 5 Ch 18 Logarithmic Functions

Week 7   Mon Oct 8             Ch 19 Exponential and Logarithmic Functions

Wed Oct 10           Ch 19 Exponential and Logarithmic Functions

Fri Oct 12               Ch 20 Trigonometric Functions

Week 8   Mon Oct 15           Ch 20 Trigonometric Functions

Wed Oct 17           Ch 21 Graphs of Trigonometric Functions

Fri Oct 19               Review

Week 9   Mon Oct 22           Test

Wed Oct 24           Ch 21 Graphs of Trigonometric Functions (Start Project 2)

Fri Oct 26               Ch 22 Angles

Week 10 Mon Oct 29          Ch 22 Angles

Wed Oct 31           Ch 23 Trigonometric Identities

Fri Nov 2                Ch 23 Trigonometric Identities

Week 11 Mon Nov 5           Ch 24 Sum, Difference, Multiple, and Half-Angle Formulas (Project 2 Due)

Wed Nov 7            Ch 24 Sum, Difference, Multiple, and Half-Angle Formulas

Fri Nov 9                Review (Start Project 3)

Week 12 Wed Nov 14         Test 

Fri Nov 16              Ch 24 Sum, Difference, Multiple, and Half-Angle Formulas

Week 13 Mon Nov 19         Ch 25 Inverse Trigonometric Functions (Project 3 Due)

Wed Nov 21          Ch 25 Inverse Trigonometric Functions (Start Project 4)

Week 14 Mon Nov 26         Ch 26 Triangles

Wed Nov 28          Ch 26 Triangles

Fri Nov 30              Ch 26 Triangles

Week 15 Mon Dec 3            Additional Topic or Catch up

Wed Dec 5            Additional Topic or Catch up (Project 4 Due)

Fri Dec 7                Review

 

*Extra Credit Sections