Math 191-02 (20709)                                                   Spring  2013                                        CSUDH

Calculus I                                                             SAC 2104 MWTh 7:00-8.25 PM                  Dr. Sally Moite

 

Text Essential Calculus by James Stewart, Thompson Brooks/Cole, 2007. (Required) (NOT 2nd Edition)

Supplement Just-In-Time Algebra & Trig for Calculus, 3rd Ed, by G. Mueller and R. Brent 2005. (Optional)

Calculator A TI-83, 84, (<-Recommended models.)  86, 89, 92 or Voyage 200 Graphing Calculator is required.

Lab You are required to bring your calculator and textbook to the lab sessions (on Thursdays).

Office Hours WTh 5:30-6:30PM, Th 2:30-3:30PM NSM E116 Web Page http://www.csudh.edu/math/smoite

Tutoring Toro Learning Center North LIB C532, LSAMP TBA

Grading 5% Homework problems on the board, from the section covered in the prior session. (4 per term required).

                5% Homework problems in parentheses handed in.

                51% Tests (3, 17% each) No makeup tests will be given.

                24% Final – Monday May 13 7:00-9:00 PM – Cumulative

                15% Lab Attendance and Participation

                5% Extra Credit TBA

Grade Scale A 90, A- 88, B+ 85, B 80, B- 78, C+ 75, C 70, C- 68, D+ 65, D 60

 

Revised Course Topics and Preliminary Schedule (Test Dates will not change.)

Wed Jan  23                Introduction, 1.1 Functions Review

Thu Jan 24             1.2 A Catalog of Essential Functions             

Mon Jan  28          1.3, 1.4 The Limit of a Function, Calculating Limits

Wed Jan 30           1.5 Continuity

Thu Jan 31             Lab: Mathematical Induction and Problem Solving

Mon Feb 4             1.6 Limits Involving Infinity

Wed Feb 6             2.1 Derivatives and Rates of Change

Thu Feb 7              Lab: Who were They? Newton, Leibniz et al

Mon Feb 11           2.2 The Derivative of a Function

Wed Feb 13           2.3 Basic Differentiation Formulas, Review

Thu Feb 14            Lab: Using Mathematica

Wed Feb 20           Test

Thu Feb 21            Lab: Limits – Precise Definition

Mon Feb 25           2.4, 2.5 The Product and Quotient Rules, The Chain Rule

Wed Feb 27           2.6, 2.7 Implicit Differentiation, Related Rates

Thu Feb 28            Lab: Problems - Limits and Continuity

Mon Mar 4            2.8 Linear Approximations and  Differentials

Wed Mar 6            3.1, 3.2 Maximum and Minimum Values, The Mean Value Theorem

Thu Mar 7             Lab: Projects 2.3 Roller Coaster, 2.5 When Should a Pilot Start Descent

Mon Mar 11          3.3 Derivatives and the Shapes of Graphs

Wed Mar 13          3.4, 3.5 Curve Sketching, Optimization Problems

Thu Mar 14           Lab: Projects 2.8 Taylor Polynomials, 3.1 Rainbows

Mon Mar 18          3.6 Newton’s Method

Wed Mar 20          3.7 Antiderivatives

Thu Mar 21           Lab: Programming Calculators

Mon Mar 25          4.1 Areas and Distances

Wed Mar 27          4.2 The Definite Integral

Thu Mar 28           4.3 Evaluating Definite Intervals

Mon Apr 8            4.4 The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus, Review

Wed Apr 10          Test

Thu Apr 11            Lab: 3.5 Shape of a Can, 4.3 Area Functions

Mon Apr 15          4.5 The Substitution Rule

Wed Apr 17          5.1, 5.2 Inverse Functions, The Natural Logarithmic Function

Thu Apr 18            Lab: Graphing Calculators – What to Believe

Mon Apr 22          5.3 The Natural Exponential Function

Wed Apr 24          5.4 General Logarithmic and Exponential Functions

Thu Apr 25            5.5 Exponential Growth and Decay

Mon Apr 29          5.6, 5.7 Inverse Trigonometric Functions, Hyperbolic Functions

Wed May 1           5.8 Indeterminate Forms and L’Hospital’s Rule

Thu May 2            Lab: Theorems, MVT, Fundamental Theorem etc., Review

Mon May 6           Test

Wed May 8           Review

Thu May 9            Lab: Concept Checks and True-False Quizzes Ch 1-5