

Academic Senate Resolution FPC 21-20

October 6, 2021

Resolution on Revision of the Faculty Leaves & Honors Committee Membership

First Reading

	First Reading
1	RESOLVED: That Policy AA 2006-11 be amended to expand the membership of the Faculty
2	Leaves and Honors Committee (FLHC) to add: one (1) tenured member of the counseling faculty
3	as elected by the counseling unit; one (1) tenured member of the University Library faculty as
4	elected by the library faculty; one (1) non-tenure track faculty (NTTF) appointed by the NTTF
5	Advisory Board, and one (1) student appointed by Associated Students, Inc. (ASI), and be it
6	
7	RESOLVED: that the specific names of awards or honors be removed from the policy to allow
8	for the expansion of awards and honors for committee review in the future; and, be it further
9	
10	RESOLVED: that this amendment will commence with the 2021-22 academic year; therefore,
11	be it further
12	
13	RESOLVED : that the ASCSUDH distribute this resolution to: President of CSUDH; Provost;
14	Office of Faculty Affairs & Development; Chair of the Faculty Leaves & Honors Committee;
15	Student Psychological Services Director; ASI President; Deans; Department Chairs; and Faculty.
16	
17	RATIONALE:
18	The Faculty Leaves and Honors Committee reviews applications from librarian and counseling
19	faculty for sabbatical leaves and awards but does not currently have representation from these
20	distinct faculty bodies to assist in evaluating their materials. With the growth in tenure-track and
21	tenured faculty in these areas, representation from these eligible groups is now more feasible on
22	this committee.
23	
24	At this time, coaching faculty are not included, because they are ineligible for sabbatical leave
25	under the current Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA). Committee membership consists
26	predominantly of tenured faculty in alignment with the CBA Article 27.5 that specifies the
27	review of sabbatical applications.

Approved by the Academic Senate on: Click or tap to enter a date. Sent to the Provost's Office for approval on: Click or tap to enter a date. Approved on: Click or tap to enter a date.



Academic Affairs Manual

Code Number: AA 2006-11

(AAPS018.001)

Status: Active

Effective Date: April 10, 2006

Subject: Faculty Leaves and Honors

Committee

Page: 1 of 1

Faculty Leaves and Honors Committee

(Supercedes PM 89-15)

OVERVIEW

The University bestows leaves and honors on outstanding members of the faculty for excellence in teaching, service and research, scholarship, and creative activity. These awards are given annually to deserving faculty formal acknowledgment of their contributions to the University community.

CHARGE

The <u>University Faculty</u> Leaves and Honors Committee is charged to evaluate nominations and applications for thefollowing leaves and honors:

- The Lyle E. Gibson Dominguez Hills Distinguished Teacher Award
- The Presidential Outstanding Professor Award
- The Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Award
- The Excellence in Service Award
- Sabbatical and difference in pay <u>Lleaves</u> (tenured faculty only)
- <u>University</u> faculty <u>awards and honors</u>

The Committee shall receive from the Ass<u>ociateistant</u> Vice President for Faculty Affairs <u>and Development</u> (AVPFAD) the list of candidates for each award, together with all documents supporting their candidacies. Applying the criteria implicit for the purpose of each award, the Committee shall select recipients for the current academic year. By the date designated for each award, the Committee shall notify the AVPFAD of the identity of selected recipients, and forward documentation to the AVPFAD indicating the basis for the Committee's selection.

PANEL_COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

The membership of the Faculty Leaves and Honors Committee shall be comprised as follows: Five (5) Seven (7) tenured faculty members shall be elected annually to serve on the Faculty Leaves and Honors Committee, with one member selected from each College, one member of the counseling faculty as elected by the counseling unit, and one member of the University Library faculty as elected by the library faculty or equivalent unit. One (1) non-tenure track faculty shall be appointed by the Non-Tenure Track Faculty Advisory Board. One (1) student shall be appointed by Associated Students Inc (ASI) to consider teaching/professor awards and Assigned Time for Exceptional Levels of Service to Students Award. Faculty who are candidates for leaves and honors may not be elected to the committee.

TERMS OF SERVICE

To ensure continuity, one member shall be held over for an additional year. It is the chair of the committee who shall be the hold-over member, and no member shall be elected from his/her College or unit. In the event that the chair is unable or unwilling to serve, the committee shall elect

another member to serve as the hold-over member.

7

8

9

10

11

12 13 14

15

16

17

28 29 30

27

31 32

333435

36<u>|</u>