Fullbright Program

The Fulbright Scholar Program

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by then Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and is considered the flagship international educational exchange program. It is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.

The Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 grants annually. Roughly 1,600 U.S. students, 4,000 foreign students, 1,200 U.S. scholars, and 900 visiting scholars receive awards, in addition to several hundred teachers and professionals. Approximately 370,000 "Fulbrighters" have participated in the Program since its inception in 1946.

California State University, Dominguez Hills is a member of the Fulbright Association. The Fulbright Association, established February 27, 1977, is the official U.S. alumni organization representing 125,000 alumni. The Association extends the Fulbright international exchange experience into a lifelong experience for U.S. alumni. Alumni and friends of the Fulbright program are connected through lifelong learning, collaborative networking and service at home and abroad.

California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) is among the nation’s top producers of Fulbright U.S. Scholars for 2014-2015. CSUDH made The Chronicle of Higher Education’s “Top Producer” list among master’s-granting institutions, based on information reported by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs in 2014-2015. The university was one of only seven in the master’s category and the only CSU campus represented.

CSUDH Fulbright Scholar Program Recipients

Irene Osisioma, associate professor of teacher education was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship grant during the 2015-2016 academic year to continue her research on the way science is taught in her home country of Nigeria. Irene collaborated with educators at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka to develop and implement a professional development model and to teach a science methods course in order to enhance Nigerian teachers’ acquisition of effective instructional strategies.

Nancy Erbe, professor of the Negotiation, Conflict Resolution and Peacebuilding (NCRP) program at CSUDH, served as the 2014-2015 Fulbright-PUC (Pontifícia Universidade Católica) Rio de Janeiro Distinguished Chair in American Studies in Brazil, which also focused on international relations, urban studies and social inequalities.

She has also served as a Fulbright Specialist in Peace and Conflict Resolution for Bethlehem West Bank and Cyprus, and has been selected four times as a reviewer for the Peace and Conflict Resolution Peer Review Committee for the Fulbright Specialist Program.

Kate Fawver, professor of History at CSUDH, served as the 2014-2015 Fulbright visiting scholar in the Faculty of History at Udmurt State University in Izhevsk, the capital of the UIdmurt Republic in Russia, 700 miles east of Moscow. Kate taught courses in early American history, the American Revolution, the Civil War, and American family history, delivered keynote lectures on American federalism, the rise of American democracy, and the history of American capitalism, and served as editor for the history and philosophy series of the university’s scientific journal “Vestnik,” among other projects.

Kim Trimble, professor of Teacher Education, was awarded an unprecedented third Fulbright Scholars award to teach in the Master of Arts in Teaching English as a Foreign Language program (MA TEFL) of the Graduate School of Education at Bilkent University in Ankara, the capital of Turkey. He previously was awarded Fulbright grants to the program in 2003-04 and 2009-10. Trimble worked with current Turkish teachers of English education who had been selected for the competitive 10-month MA TEFL program, which requires candidates to complete a master’s thesis of original research entirely in English. He also worked with faculty on the use of technology in the classroom, something he was involved in 2009-10 when he part of a pilot online program between Bilkent and Mosul University in Northern Iraq. www.csudhnews.com/2014/05/fulbright-scholars 

Types of Fulbright Scholar Programs

The Core Fulbright Scholar Program offers over 500 teaching, research or combination teaching/research awards in over 125 countries. Opportunities are available for college and university faculty and administrators as well as for professionals, artists, journalists, scientists, lawyers, independent scholars and many others.


  • Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program
  • Fulbright NEXUS Regional Scholar Program
  • Fulbright Distinguished Chair Awards
  • Fulbright Specialist Program
  • Fulbright International Education Administrators Seminars
  • Fulbright Arctic Initiative
  • Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholar Awards
  • Fulbright Global Scholar Award
  • *For information regarding CSUDH’s funding support,visit:
  • For information on other Fulbright Scholar Programs, visit www.cies.org

Fulbright U.S. Student Programs

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is the largest U.S. exchange program offering opportunities for students and young professionals to undertake international graduate study, advanced research, university teaching, and primary and secondary school teaching worldwide. The program currently awards approximately 1,900 grants annually in all fields of study, and operates in more than 140 countries worldwide. More than 360,000 Fulbrighters from the United States and other countries have participated in the Program since its inception in 1946. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 grants annually. Currently, the Fulbright Program operates in over 160 countries worldwide. For more information regarding the Fulbright U.S. Student Program, visit:


  • Study/Research Grants
       *Fulbright Business Grants
       *Fulbright Journalism & Communication Grants
       *Fulbright Grants in Sciences and Public Health
       *Fulbright Graduate Degree Grants
  • English Teaching Assistant Awards
  • Fulbright-Clinton Public Policy
  • Fulbright –mtvU Awards
  • Fulbright-Nat Geo Fellowship
  • Critical Language Enhancement Award

For information on other Fulbright U.S. Student Grants, visit:

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Applicants must be U.S. citizens at the time of application.
  • Applicants must have a conferred bachelor's degree or the equivalent before the start of the grant.
  • In the creative and performing arts, four years of professional training and/or experience meets the basic eligibility requirement.
  • Applicants must be in good health. Grantees will be required to submit a satisfactory Medical Certificate from a physician.
  • Applicants must have sufficient proficiency in the written and spoken language of the host country sufficient to communicate with the people and to carry out the proposed study/research. This is especially important for projects in the social sciences and the humanities.
  • Applicants may hold a J.D. at the time of application.
  • Doctors of Medicine may receive grants for advanced academic study, but not for internships or residencies. For more information about For more information, please contact Ormond Rucker, Visa and Immigration International Coordinator at orucker@csudh.edu or (310) 243-3734.