Honorary Degrees

CSU Dominguez Hills has awarded honorary doctorate degrees to 21 distinguished individuals, since the first was awarded to Walter J. Turnball in 1991. These individuals have demonstrated excellence in areas that benefit humanity, the CSUDH campus, the state, nation, or world.

NameDegree AwardedYear
Sallyann PaytonDoctor of Humane Letters
Carmelita JeterDoctor of Humane Letters2019
Danny J. Bakewell, Sr.Doctor of Humane Letters2017
Forest WhitakerDoctor of Humane Letters2015
Janet MurguíaDoctor of Humane Letters2011
John J. TracyDoctor of Science2011
Henry G. CisnerosDoctor of Laws2010
Monica LozanoDoctor of Humane Letters2008
Tavis SmileyDoctor of Humane Letters2008
Abel Coronado AmayaDoctor of Humane Letters2007
Gil SmithDoctor of Humane Letters2007
Ngugi wa Thiong'oDoctor of Humane Letters2005
Timothy J. LeiwekeDoctor of Humane Letters2003
Norman EpsteinDoctor of Laws1999
Katherine B. LokerDoctor of Humane Letters1999
Norman NeuerburgDoctor of Fine Arts1998
David BarclayDoctor of Humane Letters1997
Anita L. DeFrantzDoctor of Laws1996
Jun-Boo ChaDoctor of Humane Letters1995
Lodwrick M. CookDoctor of Humane Letters1995
Lloyd RichardsDoctor of Humane Letters1993
Yukiyasu TogoDoctor of Humane Letters1992
Walter J. TurnbullDoctor of Fine Arts1991

The California State University website maintains a complete list of honorary doctorates presented by the CSU system.

All honorary degrees awarded by California State University, Dominguez Hills are conferred by the Board of Trustees of the California State University, in the name of CSUDH and the California State University.

Commencement on Social Media: