Keynote Speakers

Classes of 2020 and 2021 Commencement Speakers

May 24 - 9 a.m. Linda DeYampert

May 24 - 1:30 p.m. Dominque Braud

May 24 - 6 p.m. Dr. Victor Rodriguez

May 25 - 10 a.m. Dr. Gracie Ann Dinkins

May 25 - 3 p.m. Steven Bradford

May 26 - 10 a.m. Sallyanne Payton

May 26 - 3 p.m. Nicole Enearu

Commencement Programs

View the Class of 2020 Program [PDF]

Past Keynote Speakers

CSU Dominguez Hills has been proud to welcome many distinguished individuals as speakers at past Commencement Ceremonies. Below is a partial list of some of the notable speakers who have contributed to CSUDH Commencement.

2019Rosemary DiazOptics Engineer, Jet Propulsion LaboratoryNatural and Behavioral Sciences
2019Chiraz KellyPresident, Staff FactoryBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2019Carmelita JeterGold Medal OlympianHealth, Human Services & Nursing
2019Joseph HerreraVP of Human Resources, AEGArts & Humanities; Natural and Behavioral Sciences; Health, Human Services & Nursing
2019Jan VogelExecutive Director, South Bay Workforce Investment BoardBusiness Administration & Public Policy; Natural and Behavioral Sciences; Education
2019Ted RossCIO, City of Los AngelesGraduate Ceremony
2018Eric GarcettiMayor, City of Los AngelesArts & Humanities; Education; Natural and Behavioral Sciences
2018Dave CarothersPartner, Carothers DiSante & FreudenbergerBusiness Administration & Public Policy; Health, Human Services & Nursing
2017Deborah FlintCEO, Los Angeles World AirportsArts & Humanities; Education; Natural and Behavioral Sciences
2017Danny Bakewell, Sr.Chairman, Bakewell Media and The Bakewell CompanyBusiness Administration & Public Policy; Health, Human Services & Nursing
2016Isadore Hall, IIICalifornia State SenatorNatural and Behavioral Sciences
2016Luis PatinoSenior VP and General Manager, Univision Local Media, Los AngelesBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2016Gary RadinePresident & CEO, Delta DentalHealth, Human Services & Nursing
2016Lela RochonActressArts & Humanities
2016Dr. Arturo DelgadoSuperintendent of Schools, Los Angeles CountyEducation; Extended Education & International Education
2015Gene SerokaExecutive Director, Port of Los AngelesNatural and Behavioral Sciences; Extended Education & International Education
2015Maria Contreras-SweetAdministrator, U.S. Small Business AdministrationBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2015Bill ShumardPresident & CEO, Special Olympics Southern CaliforniaHealth, Human Services & Nursing
2015Tim AllenExecutive Director, Carlston Family FoundationEducation
2015Joe BuscainoCouncilman, City of Los AngelesArts & Humanities
2015Forest WhitakerActor; Founder, Whitaker Peace & Development InitiativeArts & Humanities
2014Yvonne Brathwaite BurkeLos Angeles County Supervisor (ret.)Arts & Humanities; Extended Education & International Education
2014Jamienne StudleyActing Undersecretary, U.S. Department of EducationEducation
2014Dr. Geraldine KnatzProfessor of Practice, University of Southern California; Executive Director, Port of Los Angeles (ret.)Natural and Behavioral Sciences
2014Dan BeckermanPresident & CEO, AEGBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2014Robert BlairChief Administrative Officer, Kaiser Permanente South Bay Medical CenterHealth, Human Services & Nursing
2013Nancy CarlsonCEO, Providence Little Company of Mary Medical Center, San PedroHealth, Human Services & Nursing
2013John ChiangCalifornia State ControllerBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2013Dr. Timothy WhiteCSU ChancellorNatural and Behavioral Sciences
2013Sam EnriquezSenior Editor, Page One, The Wall Street JournalArts & Humanities; Extended Education & International Education
2013Dr. John DeasySuperintendent, Los Angeles Unified School DistrictEducation
2012Dr. Lois LeeFounder & President, Children of the NightHealth, Human Services & Nursing
2012Mary Vixie SandyExecutive Director, California Commission on Teacher CredentialingEducation
2012James Newton HowardComposer, Conductor, Music ProducerArts & Humanities
2012Antonia HernandezPresident & CEO, California Community FoundationBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2012Dr. Robert K. Ross, M.D.President & CEO, The California EndowmentNatural and Behavioral Sciences; Extended and International Education
2011Dr. John J. TracyChief Technology Officer & Senior VP of Engineering, Operations & Technology, The Boeing CompanyProfessional Studies
2011Dr. Wanda AustinPresident & CEO, The Aerospace CorporationNatural and Behavioral Sciences; Extended and International Education
2011Scott M. GordonJudge, Los Angeles County Superior CourtArts & Humanities
2011Janet MurguiaPresident & CEO, National Council of La RazaBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2010Dr. David MeyerPresident & CEO, LA BioMedNatural and Behavioral Sciences; Extended and International Education
2010Warren FurutaniCalifornia Assembly Member, 55th DistrictProfessional Studies
2010Louise Isako Miyake MoritaNisei Honorary Degree RecipientProfessional Studies
2010Terushi NaritokuNisei Honorary Degree RecipientProfessional Studies
2010Henry CisnerosExecutive Chairman, City ViewBusiness Administration & Public Policy
2010Richard TownsendPresident & CEO, Museum of Latin American ArtArts & Humanities
2009Jamie McCourtCEO, Los Angeles DodgersGraduate Ceremony
2009Hilda SolisU.S. Secretary of LaborUndergraduate Ceremony
2008Warren FurutaniCalifornia Assembly Member, 55th DistrictGraduate Ceremony
2008Tavis SmileyTalk Show Host, PhilanthropistUndergraduate Ceremony
2007Dr. Debra S. FaraMember, CSUDH Board of TrusteesGraduate Ceremony
2007Dr. James E. Lyons, Sr.Secretary of Higher Education, Maryland Higher Education Commission; Former President, CSUDHUndergraduate Ceremony
2007Abel Coronado AmayaLecturer, Chicano StudiesUndergraduate Ceremony
2007Gil SmithFounder/Former Mayor, City of CarsonUndergraduate Ceremony
2006Dr. Ira ToibinSuperintendent, Palos Verdes Unified School DistrictGraduate Ceremony
2006Janice Bryant HowroydCEO, ACT 1 Personnel ServicesUndergraduate Ceremony
2005Ngugi wa Thiong'oDirector, International Center for Writing and Translation, UC IrvineAll Graduates & Undergraduates
2005Dr. Antonia Coello NovelloCommissioner, New York State Health InsuranceAll Graduates & Undergraduates
2004Dr. James E. Lyons, Sr.President, CSUDHAll Graduates & Undergraduates
2003Timothy LeiwekePresident & CEO, AEGAll Graduates & Undergraduates
2002Antonio VillaraigosaFormer Speaker, California State AssemblyAll Graduates & Undergraduates

Commencement on Social Media: