Advising

Academic Advising

CSUDH History Advising

The history program is designed to allow students maximum flexibility to tailor their major to their interests and needs. Students should therefore seek faculty advisement upon entering the program.  Faculty advisors work with students to provide information about departmental requirements, course availability, course work, and career options.  Advisors will also help students prepare for graduate work in history and related fields.

The Department also requires advising every semester. Students will notice a departmental hold on their accounts and will not be able to register for the next term without meeting with an advisor. Students should expect to meet with an advisor in early October (for Spring registration) and late March (for Fall registration).

Students expecting to graduate must also fill out a Graduation Advisement Form by the third week of the semester before the expected semester of graduation.  Both forms must be filled out in consultation with department faculty or a designated history department undergraduate advisor.

Note that professors listed below provide major advising.

Advisors

NameEmailOfficePhoneTitle
Dr. Kate Fawverkfawver@csudh.eduLCH, A-311(310) 243-3494Professor
Dr. Joshua Jeffersjojeffers@csudh.eduLCH, A-319(310) 243-1084Assistant Professor
Dr. Andrea Johnsonanjohnson@csudh.eduLCH, A-135(310) 243-2936Associate Professor
Dr. Chris Montycmonty@csudh.eduLCH, A-317(310) 243-3469Professor
Dr. Bianca Murillobmurillo8@csudh.eduLCH, A-307(310) 243-1083Professor
Dr. Kerry Shannonkshannon@csudh.eduLCH, TBA(310) 243-3328Assistant Professor
Dr. Laura Talamanteltalamante@csudh.eduLCH, A-340(310) 243-3451Department Chair

 

Looking for a form? No worries. Click here for a list of the most common forms!