Labor Studies Scholarships

Apply for our scholarships here

Anne K Peters Scholarship

The Anne K Peters Scholarship is designated for a continuing student majoring in Sociology, Labor Studies, Women's Studies or in the PACE program. 
Amount: $500
  • Must be a continuing student in majoring in Sociology, Labor Studies, Women’s Studies or PACE (Interdisciplinary Studies) 
  • Demonstrated financial need

David Heifetz Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Scholarship $1000 awarded every Spring to an IDS or Labor Studies major.

Professor David Heifetz was the chair of IDS/PACE for many years, and he passed away suddenly in May of 2006. He earned his doctorate at UC Irvine and then taught at CSUDH for over 30 years. He was also a Fulbright scholar in England. In addition to his scholarly activities, his life’s work was dedicated to education, particularly the education of working adults returning to college after years of absence from the academic setting. He mentored thousands of students, guiding them towards realizing their dream of a college degree even when their commitments in life made the goal seem unattainable at times. In his honor, his family and his fellow professors joined with IDS/PACE students (past and present) to establish a scholarship in his name to provide financial assistance to a deserving IDS/PACE or Labor Studies student.

Criteria for the David Heifetz Memorial Endowed Scholarship award

Please read the description of the David Heifetz Memorial Endowed Scholarship award.

Reflecting on the purpose of this award, the applicant should submit a personal statement not more than 500 words that highlights

  1. their chief areas of interest in their studies,
  2. intellectual/academic achievements of which they are proud, and
  3. future goals they might have such as graduate studies once their BA is complete.

Note: Applicants must be enrolled in IDS/PACE or Labor Studies as an undergraduate major and be returning to college as an adult (21 or older)

Applicant may reapply each year they are eligible.

Rubric: Meets eligibility criteria, offers compelling reasons for receiving the award, demonstrates commitment to academic achievement, discusses future goals, and provides thoughtful reflection on the purpose of the award.

If there are any questions, contact Vivian Price, with the subject line Scholarship

Yvonne Brathwaite Burke Scholarship

The Yvonne Brathwaite Burke Scholarship is awarded to a full-time CSUDH student majoring in Public Administration, Criminal Justice Administration, Labor Studies, Economics, or Political Science.
Amount: Varies
  • Must be enrolled as a full-time student at CSUDH
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Must be majoring in Public Administration, Criminal Justice Administration, Labor Studies, Economics, or Political Science
  • Must be a resident of the Los Angeles County
  • Demonstrate community involvement related to improving opportunities for children, encouraging economic development, or improving transportation in Los Angeles