Students on CSUDH Campus

California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) President Willie J. Hagan announced that he will retire at the end of the 2017-18 academic year. A search has begun for the next university president.

About The Presidential Search

Open Forum Video

(November 2, 2017) - View the recorded live stream of the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President Open Forum

Message from Chancellor White

(November 1, 2017) - Thank you for your outstanding and thoughtful feedback during yesterday’s presidential search open forum. The search committee and I deeply value your collective insight and commitment to the future of CSUDH.

As this process moves forward, your continued feedback will be critical. I encourage you to direct any additional feedback to Please feel free to share this email address with your campus colleagues.

Thank you again for yesterday’s feedback and for all that you do to further the mission, vision and values of Cal State Dominguez Hills and the California State University.

Timothy P. White
California State University

Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President Holds Open Forum

(October 19, 2017) - The California State University Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new president of California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) to succeed Willie J. Hagan, who announced he will retire at the end of the 2017-18 academic year.

The first meeting of the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President will be held in an open forum from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 31, in Ballroom C in the Loker Student Union on the CSUDH campus. The open meeting will be immediately followed by a closed meeting.

CSU Trustee Peter J. Taylor will chair the committee. The other trustee members include:  Debra Farar, Jean Picker Firstenberg, Thelma Mélendez de Santa Ana, as well as Trustee Chair Rebecca Eisen and CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White.

Board policy requires the chair of the CSU Trustees to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, students and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus’ constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus - both selected by the chancellor. Both committees function as one unified group.

The purpose of the meeting in an open forum is to: review the role of the committee, receive comments and input from the public and campus community, explain the search process and confidentiality, confirm the schedule of meetings, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

Over the next several months, the committee will review applications and conduct interviews.

President Hagan Announces Retirement

(September 26, 2017) - During his annual University Convocation address to the campus community on Sept. 26, California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) President Willie J. Hagan announced that he will retire at the end of the 2017-18 academic year.

“President Hagan has provided innovative and steady leadership, and has diligently worked to improve the quality of CSUDH’s academic programs and the campus’ facilities,” said CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White. “During his inspiring tenure, graduation rates at CSUDH have increased at some of the highest levels of any CSU campus. Student success is a wonderful legacy and testament to his career-long dedication to providing students with transformative opportunities.”

Under Hagan’s leadership, CSUDH received numerous accolades, including a top 15 master’s degree-granting ranking for contribution to public good; the President’s Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll President’s Award, which is the highest honor given by the federal government for a university’s commitment to serving the community; and recognition at the national level that a degree from CSUDH improves the upward mobility of its graduates.

The university also embarked on an ambitious revision of the campus facilities master plan. Currently under review, the plan envisions expanding the academic core of the campus over the next 15 years to accommodate enrollment growth, and a retail-residential campus village development that would generate additional revenue to support CSUDH’s academic mission and fundamentally transform the campus and the neighboring community.

The CSU will conduct a national search for Hagan’s successor in the coming months.

Search firm:


Timothy White, Chancellor

Rebecca Eisen, Chair of the Board of Trustees

Peter Taylor, Trustee, Search Committee Chair

Debra Farar, Trustee

Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana, Trustee

Jean Picker Firstenberg, Trustee

Laura Talamante, Chair, Academic Senate

Kirti Sawhney Celly, Faculty Representative

Tiffany Herbert, Faculty Representative

Brenda Mendez, Staff Representative

Justin Blakely, Student Representative

José Solache, Alumni Association Representative

Michael Rouse, President’s Advisory Board Representative

William Franklin, Vice President, Administration Representative

Leroy Morishita, CSU East Bay, CSU President Representative

Gil Ivey, Community Representative

Michael Kelly, Community Representative



Submit desired qualities


Questions about the search process may be directed to Dr. Lars Walton, CSU Chief of Staff, at (562) 951-4740.