Resolution FPC 23-21 Update to RTP Committee Charge

Academic Senate Resolution

FPC 23-21

Membership of the University Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion Committee

2nd Reading

October 25, 2023

Yes:      41        No:       1          Abstain:  2

RESOLVED: The Academic Senate of California State University Dominguez Hills (ASCSUDH) seeks to ensure an RTP process reflective of the University’s Mission and Vision to provide transformational educational experiences grounded in culturally sustaining practices, innovative research, creative activity, and community engagement for undergraduate, post baccalaureate, and graduate students, and;

RESOLVED: The ASCSUDH acknowledges that the caliber of our university faculty is central to the overall quality of the institution; therefore, be it further,

RESOLVED: To that end, policies and procedures affecting the appointment of faculty, as well as reappointment, tenure, and promotion, exert a central and long-lasting influence; and be it further,

RESOLVED: That the University Committee on Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion for the purposes of equity and representation shall be composed of one elected professor from each of the colleges, one full librarian equivalent, and one SSP ---AR Level III [Student Services Professional /Academic Related, Level III (for example, psychological counselors)].   

RESOLVED:  That the recommended language in the attached proposed policy amends PM 98-03 (5/13/98).

RESOLVED: That the ASCSUDH distribute this resolution to the University President, Provost, President’s Cabinet, Statewide Academic Senate, College and Library Deans, Department Chairs, Directors of Psychological Services, Vice Presidents of Academic Affairs, Vice President of Student Affairs, the California Faculty Association, and all faculty.

RATIONALE: The active policy (PM-98-03) specifying the University Committee on Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion is not reflective of the CSUDH’s current academic structure. Additionally, library faculty and counseling faculty do not have representation on the

University RTP committee, this resolution seeks to ensure an equitable policy whereby the faculty is represented by tenured full professors, professor, librarian equivalent, or SSP-­‐‑AR Level III, from their respective units.




PM 98-03

Current Membership


Proposed Updated Membership

  1. one elected professor from each of the colleges,
  2. one faculty librarian equivalent, and
  3. one SSP ---AR Level III (for example, psychological counselors).

 The committee will develop their own process to elect its chair.