Faculty

Mathematics Department Office: NSM A124

Department Chair: Dr. Matthew Jones
Department Secretary: Ms. Sheila Woods

Faculty Directory

Faculty indicated with an asterisk* are also advisors.

Professors by Last Name: A-M

Ms. Mansoureh Beheshti
Lecturer

Office: EAC 705
Phone: (310) 243-3395
Email: mobeheshti@csudh.edu

Headshot of Professor Blazer

Mr. Luis Blazer
Lecturer

Office: NSM A121
Phone: (310) 243-3580
Email: lmascorro1@csudh.edu

Headshot of Professor Bolkema

Dr. Jessalyn Bolkema*
Assistant Professor

Office: NSM A141
Email: jbolkema@csudh.edu

Brulois

Dr. Frédéric Brulois*
Professor Emeritus

Office: NSM E-112
Phone: (310) 243 - 3358
Emailfbrulois@csudh.edu

Website: http://math.csudh.edu/~fbrulois/

Dr. Alex Chen*
Assistant Professor

Office: NSM A119
Phone: (310) 243-2448
Email: achen@csudh.edu

Interests: Computer vision, machine learning, deep learning, financial mathematics, differential equations modeling of physical and biological problems

Gloria Chen

Ms. Gloria Chen
Lecturer 

Office: EAC 705
Phone: (310) 243-3395
Email: gchen@csudh.edu

Interests: Applied math

Headshot of Caroline Clark

Ms. Caroline Clark
Lecturer 

Office: NSM A121
Phone: (310) 243-3580
Email: cbclark@csudh.edu

Carla Gorbea Headshot

Ms. Carla Gorbea
Lecturer

Office: NSM A121
Phone: (310) 243-2273
Email: cgorbea@csudh.edu

 

Ms. Susan Huniu
Lecturer

Office: NSM E116
Phone: (310) 243-2064
Email: shuniu@csudh.edu

Interests: Education, developmental math

Headshot of Professor Jones

Dr. Matthew Jones*
Professor
Department Chair

Office: NSM A115B
Phone: (310) 243-2410
Email: mjones@csudh.edu

Interests: Mathematics education, computational commutative algebra

Mr. Gregory Kallo
Lecturer

Office: NSM E116
Phone: (310) 243-2064
Email: gkallo@csudh.edu

Interests: Differential geometry

Lanaghan

Ms. Sharon Lanaghan
Lecturer

Office: NSM A119
Phone: (310) 243-3705
Email: slanaghan@csudh.edu

Headshot of Professor Le

Mr. Thuy Le
Lecturer

Office: EAC 701
Phone: (310) 243-3396
Email: dle@csudh.edu

Dr. Lisa Lee
Lecturer

Office: NSM A125
Phone: (310) 243-3592
Email: lslee@csudh.edu

Interests: Statistics, education

Dr. Wilfred Moore
Lecturer

Office: NSM E110
Phone: (310) 243-3048
Email: wmoore5395@aol.com

Interests: Education

Professors by Last Name: N-Z

Mr. Gia Nguyen
Lecturer

Office: EAC 701
Phone: (310) 243-3396
Email: gpnguyen@csudh.edu

Headshot of Professor Hang Nguyen

Dr. Hang Nguyen
Lecturer

Office: NSM B-220
Phone: (310) 243-3391
Email: hanguyen@csudh.edu

Mr. (Zhijun) David Ni
Lecturer

Office: NSM B220
Phone: (310) 243-3391
Email: zni@csudh.edu

Mr. Edgar Perez
Lecturer

Office: EAC 701
Phone: (310) 243-3396
Email: eperez@csudh.edu

Headshot of Professor Pong

Dr. Wai Yan Pong*
Professor

Office: NSM A122
Phone: (310) 243-2443
Email: wpong@csudh.edu

Website: math.csudh.edu/~pong/

Interests: Differential Algebra, Model Theory, Number Theory

Headshot of Professor Raianu

Dr. Serban Raianu*
Professor

Office: NSM E108
Phone: (310) 243-3139
Email: sraianu@csudh.edu

Website: math.csudh.edu/~sraianu

Interests: Hopf algebras

Professor Francisco Romero

Mr. Francisco Romero
Lecturer

Office: NSM B220
Phone: (310) 243-3391
Email: fromero@csudh.edu

Interests: Cognitive development, learning design, problem based learning, learning communities, developmental education, technology in teaching and learning, educational equity, statistical methods, and applications in statistical issues

Headshot of Dr. Sanchez Tapia

Dr. Cynthia Sanchez Tapia*
Assistant Professor

Office: NSM A139
Email: cysanchez@csudh.edu

Mr. Noe Solorio
Lecturer

Office: NSM E112
Phone: (310) 243-3358
Email: nsolorio@csudh.edu

Headshot of Professor Stagg

Dr. Kristen Stagg*
Associate Professor

Office: NSM A117
Phone: (310) 243-2367
Email: kstagg@csudh.edu

Interests: Algebra, Lie groups and Leibniz algebras, math education

Professor Stanoyevitch

Dr. Alexander Stanoyevitch*
Professor

Office: NSM E114
Phone: (310) 243-3905
Email: astanoyevitch@gmail.com

Website: http://stanoyevitch.net/

Interests: Analysis, ordinary and partial differential equations, discrete mathematics, algorithms, applied and computational mathematics

Mr. Chau Tran
Lecturer

Office: EAC 701
Phone: (310) 243-3396
Email: chtran@csudh.edu

Mr. Jaime Vallejo
Lecturer

Office: EAC 701
Phone: (310) 243-3396
Email: jvallejo4@csudh.edu

Headshot of Dr. Grace Wang

Dr. Yi (Grace) Wang*
Assistant Professor

Office: NSM A120
Phone: (310) 243-2273
Email: ywang@csudh.edu

Website: mathgrace.github.io

Interests: Computational harmonic analysis, machine learning, signal and image processing, as well as their applications to real data

Wilkins

Dr. John Wilkins
Professor Emeritus

Office: NSM A115
Phone: (310) 243 - 2203
Email: jwilkins@csudh.edu 

Ms. May Xu
Lecturer

Office: EAC 705
Phone: (310) 243-3395
Email: mxu@csudh.edu

Headshot of Professor Cyarnall

Dr. Carolyn Yarnall*
Assistant Professor

Office: NSM A123
Phone: (310) 243-3955
Email: cyarnall@csudh.edu

Interests: Topology and geometry