Parking Ticket Dispute

Parking Citation Appeals

Review (1st Level)

With the Governor's signing of AB 1032, law enforcement agencies statewide can no longer void, cancel, or destroy any parking or traffic citation. Only the issuing officer can request the citation to be rescinded under strict guidelines.

Should a party elect to contest a parking citation, the first step is to initiate an Administrative Review. The party cited has twenty-one (21) days from the issue date of the citation to initiate a request for an Administrative Review.

**Important: Do not pay the citation if you initiate a citation appeal.

The Administrative Review is a process in which the issuing officer and his/her supervisor will review the citation. A determination is returned to the requesting party via mail. After receiving the determination, the cited party has twenty-one (21) days from the date of mailing to escalate the appeal to the next level, an on-campus Administrative Hearing.

Please visit the link below to submit an online citation appeal. You will need your citation number or California vehicle plates to look up your citation and initiate your online appeal. Please note you will be directed to another webpage where you will have the option to pay your citation or initiate the appeal process.

Pay My Cite

If you have any questions please contact our office at (310) 243-3725.

Forms are still available at the links below or in the Parking Services office at SCC-200. Completed forms should be returned to the Parking Services office at between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM, or after hours at WH B-100.

Hearing (2nd Level)

The cited party will request an Administrative Hearing and post the parking penalty. The hearing officer will contact the requesting party and set up an appointment for the conference. The hearings are held on campus on the third Wednesday of every month, between the hours of 3:00 PM and 5:00 PM.

After the hearing, the hearing officer will mail the determination to the cited party. The parking penalty will be returned or refunded. If the citation is deemed valid, the parking penalty will be forfeited. Should the cited party still disagree with the hearing officer's determination, they can file suit in small claims court at the Compton Judicial Court. This is considered the 3rd Level of an appeal.

*Parking Office phone: (310) 243-3725

Payment Plans Available 

Pursuant to the California Vehicle Code and CSU Systemwide policy, payment plans are available for those with multiple unpaid parking citations or at least $200 owed. For more information, please contact Jessica Garcia at Parking & Transportation Services in Small College Complex, Room 200, or contact the office via email at parking@csudh.edu or phone at (310) 243-3725.

Policy Objective

It is the policy of the CSU that the registered owner or person responsible for parking citations shall be allowed to enroll in a payment plan. This policy has been created in response to changes in California Vehicle Code as a part of Assembly Bill 503 (2017-18).

Policy Statement

  1. A registered owner (CVC 460, 505) or person responsible for the citations shall be eligible to enroll in a payment plan when they have multiple unpaid parking citations or at least $200.
    1. Once this threshold is met, any citations associated with this vehicle, registered owner, or person responsible may be added to the payment plan at the time of enrollment.
    2. If additional citations are accrued during the payment plan period, the plan may not be modified to include these citations, nor will a concurrent payment plan be offered.
    3. Citations in a payment plan will not count towards immobilization/tow/impound eligibility pursuant to CVC 22651(i)(1).
    4. Once a vehicle is immobilized/towed/impounded due to other violations, all citations, including those on a payment plan, are immediately due pursuant to CVC 22651(i)(1)(C).
    5. Payment plans shall include language allowing the campus to collect additional collection costs, court costs or attorney fees associated with the collection of outstanding debt.
    6. If an individual requires continued access to parking on campus, the purchase of a parking permit will be required.
  2. The fee to enroll in a payment plan is $25.
  3. Applied late fees will not be removed, but any late fees not yet applied will be placed in abeyance while the payment plan is in place. If the individual adheres to the plan terms, these late fees will be waived once the payment plan is complete.
    1. If an individual defaults on a payment plan, a subsequent payment plan will not be offered for those citations and any late fees placed in abeyance will be immediately reinstated.
  4. Once the payment plan is in place and the individual adheres to its terms, an itemization of unpaid parking penalties and service fees will not be filed with the DMV (also known as a “DMV Registration Hold”) and any DMV Registration Hold in place will be temporarily removed.
    1. If an individual defaults on a payment plan, the DMV Registration Hold will be reinstated, if applicable.
  5. At plan enrollment, an initial payment of 10% of the amount owed, plus the enrollment fee, is required.
  6. Payments must be made each calendar month.
    1. There is no grace period for late payments.
    2. For mailed payments, a postmark is acceptable to meet this requirement.
  7. Payment plan duration
    1. For balances under $200, payment plans may not exceed four months.
    2. For balances between $200 and $400, payment plans may not exceed six months.
    3. For balances over $400, payment plans may not exceed nine months.
    4. The period of repayment will be determined by the appropriate administrator.
  8. This policy shall not impact individual campus procedures for using the Franchise Tax Board intercept program or the student “hold” process (pursuant to CSU policy).
  9. This policy shall be reviewed and recertified by June 30, 2025.