Graduate Admissions

Graduate Admissions

Before You Apply

Before you Apply

  • Research the admission requirements for your desired program of choice;
  • Ensure you are aware of all deadlines, including the application and document (transcript) deadline;
  • Review supplemental requirements, such as:
    • Personal Statement
    • Letter of Recommendation (including how many are required)
    • Standardized Test Scores (such as GRE/GMAT/CSET)
  • Have a copy of your unofficial transcripts from all previously attended institutions to assist you in your application;
  • Go to http://calstate.edu/apply and create an account;
  • Complete and submit your application for admission;
  • Submit official transcripts after you received your welcome (acknowledgment) email.
Application Deadlines

Spring 2023, Applications Open August 1, 2022 

FALL 2022 DEADLINES [pdf]

*All official transcripts must go to the Office of Admission. The Office of Graduate Studies are not authorized to accept official transcripts. 

Admissions Criteria for Graduate Applicants

Admissions Criteria for CSUDH Graduate Applicants

  • Completion of a four-year college course of study and hold an acceptable baccalaureate degree from an institution accredited by a regional accrediting association or completion of equivalent academic preparation as determined by appropriate campus authorities;
  • Good academic standing at the last college or university attended;
  • Grade Point Average (GPA) of a minimum of 2.5 (A=4.00) in:
    • Either a whole baccalaureate degree program.
    • OR in the last 60 semester (90 quarter) units attempted in a baccalaureate degree program.
    • OR have already obtained a post-baccalaureate (graduate) degree from a regionally accredited institution (master’s degree or higher);
  • Satisfactorily adhere to the professional, personal, scholastic, and other standards for graduate study, including qualifying examinations, as appropriate campus authorities may prescribe.

 

Admissions Criteria for CSUDH International Graduate Applicants

  • Completion of a four-year college course of study and applicant must hold an acceptable U.S. equivalent baccalaureate degree from an institution accredited by a regional accrediting association or completion of equivalent academic preparation as determined by appropriate campus authorities;
  • Good academic standing at the last college or university attended;
  • Grade Point Average (GPA) of a minimum of 2.5 (A=4.00) in:
    • Either a whole U.S. equivalent baccalaureate degree program.
    • OR in the last 60 semester (90 quarter) units attempted in a U.S. equivalent baccalaureate degree program.
    • OR have already obtained a post-baccalaureate (graduate) degree from a regionally accredited institution (US equivalent master’s degree or higher);
  • Satisfactorily adhere to the professional, personal, scholastic, and other standards for graduate study, including qualifying examinations, as appropriate campus authorities may prescribe.
Acknowledgment Letter Checklist

Acknowledgment Letter Checklist

Once you have submitted your application, please submit your official transcripts.

  • Activate your MyCSUDH campus account by following the directions provided in your CSUDH welcome (acknowledgment) email
  • Submit required official transcripts from all previously attended institutions and other documents, as requested
  • Domestic students (Residents and Non-residents) with U.S. coursework only:
    • Electronic transcripts are preferred and encouraged. If your university requires an email address, please provide admissions@csudh.edu as the recipient.
    • Mailed official transcripts address: Office of Admissions, 1000 E Victoria Street, WH-290, Carson, CA 90747
  • Domestic students (Residents and Non-residents) with foreign coursework:
    • Official transcripts
    • Diploma (for foreign institutions only)
    • Certified translations of all documents (if not in English)
    • Proof of English Proficiency
  • International students requiring an F-1 student visa—visit the International Office’s webpage for more information
  • Submit all academic program documents—review program requirements
  • Verify residency status on welcome (acknowledgment) email—visit the Residency Information webpage for more information
  • Apply for financial aid
  • Continually check your personal email address for CSUDH correspondence

Please note the following:

  • You will receive your CSUDH ID number in your welcome (acknowledgment) letter. Once you have activated your campus account, please continue to check your “to-do” list and your application status periodically.
  • Please allow time for document delivery and an additional 3-5 business days for processing once the Office of Admissions receives the document. Your “to-do” list will be updated once your documents are processed. All documents are due by the Application Deadline.
Admitted, What's Next

Step 1: Access MyCSUDH, your student account

Step 2: Activate ToroMail

Step 3: Department Notification

If you do not receive a letter of admissions from your department within two weeks of receiving a general letter from the Admissions' office, please contact your program coordinator.

FacultyProgramEmail
Dr. Fang WangMS Biologyfwang@csudh.edu
Dr. Jack HanMS Computer Sciencejhan@csudh.edu
Dr. Mohsen BeheshtiMS Cyber Securitymbeheshti@csudh.edu
Dr. Adriean MancillasMS Counselingamancillas@csudh.edu
Dr. Edward Curammeng and Dr. Elexia McGovernMA Educationecurammeng@csudh.edu
Dr. Jane Lee and Dr. Ed ZoernerMA Englishjlee@csudh.edu
Cheyenne CummingsMS Environmental Scienceccummings@csudh.edu
Dr. Mark MullerMS Health – Orthotics and & Prostheticsmmuller@csudh.edu
Dr. Michael LaurentMS Marital Family and Therapymlaurent@csudh.edu
Dr. Brian JarrettMA Negotiation Conflict Resolution and Peacebuildingbjarrett@csudh.edu
Dr. Terri AresMS NursingSONdepartment@csudh.edu
Dr. Terry PeraltaMS Occupational Therapyotprogram@csudh.edu
Dr. Silvia Santos and Dr. Keisha PaxtonMA Psychologyssantos@csudh.edu
Dr. Betty VuMaster of Public Administrationmpaonline@csudh.edu
Dr. Lynda WilsonMS Quality Assurancemsqa@csudh.edu
Dr. Elwin TilsonMS Radiologic and Imaging Sciencesetilson@csudh.edu
Dr. Julie JhunMA School Leadershipjjhun@csudh.edu
Dr. Nyora HiggsMaster of Social Worknhiggs@csudh.edu
Dr. Katy PintoMA Sociologykpinto@csudh.edu
Dr. Antonia BoadiMS Systems Engineeringaboadi@csudh.edu
Dr. Kate EspositoMA Special Educationkesposito@csudh.edu

Learn more about Graduate Programs

Term Specific Fees Information

MS Biology MS Occupational Therapy
MS Computer Science MA Psychology
MS Cyber Security Master of Public Administration
MS Counseling MS Quality Assurance
MA Education MA School Leadership
MA English Master of Social Work
MS Environmental Science MS Sociology
MS Health Science – Orthotics and Prosthetics MS Systems Engineering
MS Marital Family and TherapyMA Special Education
MA Negotiation, Conflict Resolution & PeacebuildingMS Radiologic and Imaging Sciences
MS NursingTeacher Education Credential