Faculty

 

“That men do not learn very much from the lessons of history is the most important of all the lessons that history has to teach.” ? Aldous Huxley 

Faculty

Kate Fawver

Kate Fawver
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside, 2002

kfawver@csudh.edu
LCH A-311

310.243.3494

Fall 2018 office hours:

Monday/Wednesday
11:30am - 12:45pm

Tuesday
10:00am - 4:00pm

and by appointment.

 

Dr. Fawver returns from teaching American history in Russia  (To read profile article: click here)

Dr. Fawver receives Fulbright Scholars Grant (To read profile article: click here)

Joshua Jeffers CSUDH Department of History

Joshua J. Jeffers

Assistant Professor Ph.D., Purdue University, 2014

jojeffers@csudh.edu

LCH A-319

Fall 2018 office hours:

Monday/Wednesday
8:30am - 11:00am

Tuesday/Thursday
8:30am - 9:30am

Monday -Thursday
1:00pm - 2:00pm

and by appointment.

A native of Chillicothe, Ohio, I received my Ph.D. in history from Purdue University in 2014 where I specialized in Native American and frontier and borderlands history. My research interests also include environmental history, intellectual history, and colonial studies.

Andrea Johnson

Andrea Johnson
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri, Columbia, 2006

anjohnson@csudh.edu
LCH A-315

310.243.2636

Fall 2018 office hours:

Monday
1:30pm - 2:30pm

Monday/Wednesday
5:15pm - 6:15pm

and by appointment.

Attended an NEH Summer Institute on Early American Women held in Providence, Rhode Island.

Christopher Monty

Chris Monty
Chair and Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2004

cmonty@csudh.edu
LCH A-317

310.243.3469

Fall 2018 office hours:

Monday
10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday
11:00am - 1:00pm

Wednesday
1:30pm - 3:30pm

Thursday
11:00am - 1:00pm


Email for Appointment

 

Recipient of the Lyle E. Gibson Distinguished Teacher Award, 2013.  (To read profile article: click here)

Bianca Murillo CSUDH

Bianca Murillo
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara,2009

Home Page

bmurillo8@csudh.edu
LCH A-307

310.243.1083

Fall 2018 office hours:

Wednesday
2:30pm - 5:30pm

https://calendly.com/murillo

Recipient of the 2015-2016 Graves Award in the Humanities, administered by ACLS

Dr. Murillo’s book Market Encounters: Consumer Cultures in Twentieth Century Ghana (2017), from the with Ohio University Press as part of its New African Histories Series, is available now!

In Market Encounters, Bianca Murillo explores the shifting social terrains that made the buying and selling of goods in modern Ghana possible. Fusing economic and business history with social and cultural history, she traces the evolution of consumerism in the colonial Gold Coast and independent Ghana from the late nineteenth century through to the political turmoil of the 1970s. 



Dr. Murillo was recently featured here.

Doris Namala Spring 2018

Doris Namala
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2002

Home Page

dnamala@csudh.edu 
LCH A-347

310.243.3489

Fall 2018 office hours:

Tuesday
10:00am - 11:30am &     1:30pm - 2:30pm

Wednesday
2:30pm - 3:30pm

and by appointment.

Dr. Namala, a colonial Latin American historian, is well respected in California State University, Dominguez Hills’ (CSUDH) History Department for her bold and creative approach to integrating her research into student learning. That admiration has garnered her the 2018 Catherine H. Jacobs Outstanding Faculty Lecturer Award, an honor that acknowledges non-tenure track lecturers who have “demonstrated excellence in teaching effectiveness and overall contribution to the university.”  Read more...

Laura Talamante

Laura Talamante
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2003

ltalamante@csudh.edu
LCH A-327

310.243.3451

Fall 2018 office hours:

 

 Tuesday/Thursday
9:00am - 10:00am

&

11:15am - 12:15pm

and by appointment.

Recipient of the Brown Foundation Fellowship at the Dora Maar House in Ménerbes, France, 2014.  (To read faculty highlight article: click here)


 


Adjunct Faculty

Tom Alvarez

Tom Alvarez
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2007

talvarez@csudh.edu
LCH A-313

 310.243.1084

Fall 2018 office hours:

Monday/Wednesday

3:25pm - 5:25pm

and by appointment.

Michael Desrochers

Michael Desrochers
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1978

mdesrochers@csudh.edu or
mjdesrochers@earthlink.net
LCH A-340

310.243.1049

Fall 2018 office hours:

Tuesday/Thursday
7:00am - 8:00am &

11:30am - 12:30pm

and by appointment.

Kirsten Resnick

Kirsten Resnick
M.A., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1994

kresnick@csudh.edu or kresnick@earthlink.net
LCH A-340a

310.243.2041

Fall 2018 office hours:

Monday/Wednesday
7:30am - 8:00am & 10:00am - 11:00am

and by appointment.

 Ryan ArchibaldRyan Archibald
Ph.D., University of Washington, ABD

rarchibald@csudh.edu
LCH A-313

310.243.3328

Fall 2018 office hours:

 Monday/Wednesday
12:30pm - 2:00pm

and by appointment.

 Trevor GriffeyTrevor Griffey
Ph.D., University of Washington, 2011

tgriffey@csudh.edu
LCH A-340

310.243.1049

Fall 2018 office hours:

 Tuesday/Thursday
1:15pm - 2:15pm

and by appointment.

Brian Kovalesky

Brian Kovalesky


 


Emeriti Faculty

Jim Jeffers

James Jeffers 

Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 2003-2018

Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 1988

jjeffers@csudh.edu