Academic Advisement

All of our full-time faculty serve as academic advisors. Students may choose their own advisors, or they may be assigned to advisors. Students who would like to be assigned to an advisor should come to the department office for assistance. You may call us at (310) 243-3322 or visit us in LCH E315. Walk-ins are welcome!

Trying to decide between the English Literature and the English Education major? The English Literature major is 39 units, whereas the English Education major is 56 units. The English Education major is a certified program that gives future middle and high school English teachers subject matter certification with the additional submission of a portfolio and interview. English Literature majors who wish to teach high school will instead have to take and pass the CSET.

Important Information:

  • Major worksheets are available in the department office.
  • Linguistics majors should, if possible, see Dr. Zoerner or Dr. Wenzell.
  • The Subject Matter Preparation Program Advisor (SMPP) is Dr. Best.
  • Graduate Students should see the Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Zoerner for TESL or Dr. Best for English Literature/Rhetoric and Composition.
  • If you are having difficulty scheduling the English classes that you need to graduate, please see Dr. Best, Dr. Chin, Dr. Oesterheld, or Dr. Zoerner.
  • English Education majors will need to complete a portfolio and interview to receive subject matter certification. This is not a degree requirement, so you can graduate without it, but you will not be able to get your teaching credential without it. Instructions for receiving subject matter certification can be found here.
  • For General Education advising, please contact the Student Success Center, the University Advisement Center, or your EOP/ETE advisor.


Department Advisors

NameEmailOfficePhoneTitle
Dr. Timothy Chintchin@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, E-315(310) 243-3322Department Chair
Dr. Debra Bestdbest@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, E-309(310) 243-3943Professor
Dr. Randolph Cauthenccauthen@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-336(310) 243-3931Professor
Dr. Thomas Giannottitgiannotti@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-332(310) 243-1048Professor
Dr. Mara Graysonmgrayson@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-326(310) 243-3942Associate Professor
Dr. Jon Haussjhauss@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-339(310) 243-3928Professor
Dr. Rod Hernandezrhernandez@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-324(310) 243-1044Associate Professor
Dr. Kimberly Huthkhuth@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-322(310) 243-1081Assistant Professor
Dr. Andrew Kalaidjianakaladjian@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-334(310) 243-1047Assistant Professor
Dr. Jane Leejlee@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-320(310) 243-3962Associate Professor
Dr. Siskanna Nayanahasnayanha@csudh.eduNorth Library, 5506(310) 243-3359Associate Professor
Dr. Helen Oesterheldoesterheld@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall B-344(310) 243-3939Associate Professor
Dr. David Shermandsherman@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall, B-333(310) 243-3932Professor
Dr. Vanessa Wenzellvwenzell@csudhLaCorte Hall, B-340(310) 243-3958Professor
Dr. Ed Zoernerezoerner@csudh.eduLaCorte Hall B-335(310) 243-3944Professor