Sabbatical Leaves

To protect the health and safety of everyone in our community, our office staff is working remotely. To access our services or get advice, please contact us at You may also contact a staff member directly via email by visiting the Contact Us page.

Thank you for your understanding. For the latest CSUDH updates regarding COVID-19, please visit

 The granting of sabbatical leaves is intended for the mutual benefit of the University and the person granted such a leave. CSU Dominguez Hills is committed in supporting and encouraging the teaching, research, scholarly and creative activities, and professional development of the faculty unit employee. Hence, we encourage all full-time faculty members to peruse this page for more details on eligibility, applications, and timelines.

To view the Leaves and Honors Committee members for this academic year, please click on the following link: 2019-2020 Leaves and Honors Committee.

CSU/CFA (Unit 3) Collective Bargaining Agreement Faculty Leave Information

For more information and eligibility, please refer to the below articles of the Unit 3, California Faculty Association Collective Bargaining Agreement.

  • CBA Article 22, Leaves of Absence Without Pay
  • CBA Article 27, Sabbatical Leaves
  • CBA Article 28, Difference in Pay Leaves

Leaves and Honors Sabbatical Leave Timeline (2019-2020)

Leaves and Honors Sabbatical Leave Timeline [PDF]

September 24, 2019: Date of Sabbatical notifications

October 24, 2019: Sabbatical applications DUE in Faculty Affairs and Development

November 4, 2019: Leaves and Honors Committee begins selection process

November 18, 2019: Leaves and Honors Committee select award recipients

December 2, 2019: University President announces sabbatical recipients

Sabbatical Application and Forms

If you are a full-time faculty eligible for a sabbatical leave, you may apply and submit your application to the Office of Faculty Affairs and Development at Welch Hall B-368. 

Sabbatical Leave Recipients

2019-2020 Sabbatical Leave Recipients

The faculty members listed below have been granted sabbatical leaves to be taken during the 2019-2020 Academic Year. These recipients were selected based upon the recommendation of the Faculty Leaves and Honors Committee, chaired by Dr. Theodore Byrne.

Shari Berkowitz

Public Administration

Fall 2019

Cornelia Brentano

Child Development

Spring 2020

Timothy Chin


Fall 2019

Jon Hauss


Fall 2019

Andrea Johnson


Fall 2019

Brendan McNulty

Earth Science and Geography

Fall 2019

Marie Palladini

Public Administration

Fall 2019

Sheela Pawar


Spring 2020

Jeff Sapp

Teacher Education

Spring 2020

Carl Sneed


Spring 2020

Alexander Stanoyevitch


Fall 2019

Mark Waldrep

Digital Media Arts

Fall 2019