Non-Tenure Track Faculty Advisory Board

The mission of this advisory board is to ensure inclusiveness and equity so that all non-tenure track faculty experience equitable conditions for teaching, faculty hiring, development, evaluation, and inclusive practices in shared governance across colleges, departments, programs, and divisions. The two charges of the Non-Tenure Track Advisory Board (NTTAB) are:  

  1. The NTTFAB will support the work of the NTTF Implementation Committee in its efforts to enact the recommendations of Task Face to Recommend Best Practices for Non-Tenure Track Instructional Faculty.  
  2. The NTTFAB will make relevant recommendations to the Academic Senate Executive Committee, the Faculty Policy Committee, the Educational Policy Committee, and the Academic Technology Committee.  

Communication: the NTTFAB will communicate the time, place, activities, and recommendation of the board through the non-tenure-track faculty listserv. The NTTFAB will use the listserv to solicit the needs of the non-tenure track faculty across the colleges to better represent their experiences at CSUDH. The NTTFAB will also be kept abreast of current best practices by Faculty Affairs and Development for supporting the professional development of non-tenure track faculty members.

Committee Charge

Committee Members (2022-2023)

  • Paul Fornelli, Chair (CAH) 
  • Meryah Fisher (CAH)
  • Steven Schuelka (CCPS)
  • Vacant (CBAPP)
  • Maria Barbosa (CHHSN)
  • Erin Barrett (CNBS)
  • Vacant (COE)
  • Vacant (Coaching)
  • Yoko Okunishi (Library)
  • Krystal Rawls (Staff Rep IT)
  • Swati Mehta (Tenure Track Rep)
  • Jody Mahler (CFA Rep) 

Spring 2023  NTTFAB Meeting Dates:

Every other Friday, 10:20am-12pm via zoom. 

January 27

February 3 & 17

March 3 & 17

April 7 & 21

May 12

The NTTFAB will meet at once per semester with the Provost and university President to share concerns and updates from the board. The top three issues by member vote and shared with President Parham and Provost Spagna in December and January meetings were:

  • Job Security
  • Communication
  • Institutional Respect for NTTF


NTTFAB Working Groups:

The following groups were created to address issues with the administrative and divisional support needed. 

  • It Support
  • Faculty Affairs 
  • Onboarding 
  • Research/Fundraising Workgroup