University Writing

University Writing Committee

The University Writing Committee (UWC), a standing committee of the Academic Senate, seeks to build and maintain a robust culture of writing at CSUDH that supports and advances the mission, vision, and goals of the University while it positively impacts students, faculty, and staff. The UWC provides vision, leadership, and expertise aimed at building a culture of writing within the University, and serves as a recommending body to the Academic Senate on matters related to university-wide writing policies and practices. In addition, the UWC offers consultation and recommendations to University entities tasked with the oversight, development, and review of: student writing requirements and standards; student learning outcomes assessment; and program assessment related to student writing.

UWC Charge

GWAR-Certifying Courses

For questions regarding the campus curriculum review process and the Graduation Writing Assessment Requirement, please contact the Office of Academic Programs at


Siskanna Naynaha
(310) 243-3359

Meeting dates:

UWC meets on the 1st Monday and 3rd Wednesday of every month from 10 am - 12 noon.

Members 2022-2023

  • Siskanna Naynaha, Committee Chair, Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
  • Jennifer M. Macy, CBAPP Representative
  • Matt Mutchler, Director of Assessment
  • Mike Karlin, COE Representative
  • Horace Crogman, Chair of EPC
  • Sumino Otsuji, GWAR Coordinator
  • Jennifer Brandt, CAH Representative
  • Kathryn E. Theiss, CNBS Representative
  • Iris A’Hirataro, CHHSN Representative
  • Ryan Khoo, Director of the Toro Learning & Testing Center
  • Sherwin Sales, Director of the Writing Center
  • Helen Oesterheld, English Department Representative
  • Kim Costino (ex officio), Dean of Undergraduate Studies
  • Student Representative (call for service active)
  • Multilingual Representative, (call for service active)
  • Guillermo Tellez, Administrative Support, Academic Programs